CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 19(TRB)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

THIRTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY THE HOUSE SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON TRIBAL AFFAIRS

Offered: 4/26/19

Referred: Community and Regional Affairs

Sponsor(s): HOUSE SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON TRIBAL AFFAIRS

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Urging the United States Congress to fully fund the United States Census Bureau for the
- 2 2020 Census; urging the governor to prioritize an accurate count for the 2020 Census;
- 3 and urging local governments to establish local complete count commissions.

4 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- 5 WHEREAS the United States Census Bureau is required by the United States
- 6 Constitution to conduct a count of the population every 10 years to help shape the foundation
- 7 of our society and play an active role in American democracy; and
- 8 WHEREAS the demographics of the United States continue to grow and shift and
- 9 include individuals who identify as multiracial; and
- WHEREAS, every year, billions of dollars of federal and state funds are allocated to
- communities, and decisions on matters of national and local importance, including healthcare,
- 12 community development, business location and operations, housing, education, transportation,
- social services, and employment, are made based on census data; and
- 14 WHEREAS distribution of federal funding for American Indian and Alaska Native
- schools, education programs, health programs, housing programs, water and sewage projects,

1	roads, a	and	economic	development	is	based	on	data	collected	by	the	United	States	Census
2	Bureau:	anc	1											

WHEREAS the decennial census is a significant undertaking that requires cross sector collaboration and partnership to achieve a complete, fair, and accurate count; and

WHEREAS the United States Census Bureau is facing several challenges with the 2020 Census, including declining response rates, technological changes, and fiscal constraints; and

WHEREAS census data is used in the consideration of redistricting for the Alaska State Legislature and affects municipal assemblies and councils; and

WHEREAS the Alaska State Legislature is committed to ensuring that every state resident is counted in the 2020 Census;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States Congress to fully fund the United States Census Bureau for the 2020 Census, and, if Congress determines it to be advantageous, to allow rural residents of the state without a physical address to use a post office box to participate in the 2020 Census, thereby equipping the United States Census Bureau to fulfill its constitutional obligation to fully enumerate all persons within the United States; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature desires to work with the state's executive branch to allocate funding necessary to conduct outreach within the state and to provide support to supplement the outreach and promotional activities of the United States Census Bureau as well as the work of groups in the state, including the Alaska Census Working Group and other regional stakeholders, in targeting populations that are hard to count; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature requests that the governor urge the 2020 Census Alaska Complete Count Commission to hold active and regular meetings to adequately prepare for the decennial census, to prioritize an accurate census count in all areas of the state before considerations of data use to promote census participation, to leverage existing community stakeholder knowledge to conduct outreach in rural communities, and to create and translate educational materials to supplement the communications campaign of the United States Census Bureau; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature encourages every

- 1 municipality in the state to establish its own complete count commission to foster maximum
- 2 participation by all state residents.
- 3 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Michael J. Dunleavy,
- 4 Governor of Alaska; Tim Navarre, President, Alaska Municipal League; and the Honorable
- 5 Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U. S. Senators, and the Honorable Don
- 6 Young, U. S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.