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Summary:  This legislation makes sexual abuse of a minor in the third degree a sexual felony 

if there is a six year age difference between the perpetrator and the victim. It also adds 

unwanted contact with semen to the definition of “sexual contact” thereby making this 

conduct a sex offense. The bill includes an enhanced sentencing structure for strangulation. 

It also clarifies how to count prior felonies when determining the appropriate sentencing 

range when sentencing a person for a sexual felony and requires out-of-state sex offenders 

to register in Alaska when they are present in the state. The bill makes indecent viewing or 

production of a picture of a person under the age of 16 and indecent production of an image 

of an adult a registerable sex offense. The bill creates the new crimes of enticement of a 

minor, repeatedly sending images of genitalia, and eliminates marriage as a defense to most 

acts of sexual assault. It also clarifies that a sex offender who is ineligible for a good time 

deduction from their sentence is also ineligible for discretionary parole. 

 

 Section 1:  Legislative Intent and Findings  

Expresses intent to overturn Williams v. State, 418 P.3d 870 (Alaska App. 2018) in regards to 

counting prior felonies when sentencing a person for a sexual felony and  State, Department of 

Public Safety v. Doe, 425 P. 3d 115 (Alaska 2018) in regards to out-of-state sex offenders 

registering as a sex offender when they are present in Alaska. 

 

Sections 2-3:  Eliminates marriage as a defense to sexual assault in all cases except when both 

parties consent and it is the nature of the relationship that is criminalized (i.e. probation 

officer/probationer, peace officer/person in custody, Division of Juvenile Justice Officer/person 

18 or 19 and under the jurisdiction of the Division of Juvenile Justice). 

 

Sections 4-6:  Removes the word “online” from the crime of “online enticement” criminalizing 

any enticement of a minor regardless of whether the enticement occurs “online.” 

 

Section 7:  Removes the word “semen” from the crime of harassment in the first degree to 

conform with change made in Section 13.   

 

Section 8:  Adds repeatedly sending unwanted images of genitalia to the crime of harassment in 

the second degree. 

 

Section 9:  Separates “production” from “viewing” in the crime of indecent viewing or 

production of a picture. 
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Section 10:  Conforming amendment. Changes the word “photography” to “production of 

pictures.” 

 

Section 11:  Conforming amendment. Changes the word “photography” to “production of 

pictures.” 

 

Section 12:  Classification section. Makes viewing or production of a picture of a person under 

the age of 16 a class C felony (which will be sentenced as a sexual felony, see sec. 15). 

Production of a picture of an adult is also a class C felony. Viewing of a picture of an adult is a 

class A misdemeanor. 

 
 

Child Adult 

Viewing Class C Sexual Felony  

(2-12 years, max 99) 

Registerable Sex Offense 

Class A misdemeanor  

(0-30, 1 year max) 

Production Class C Sexual Felony  

(2-12 years, max 99) 

Registerable Sex Offense 

Class C Felony  

(0-2 years, 5 max) 

Registerable Sex Offense 

 

 

Section 13:  Adds causing a victim to come into contact with semen to the definition of “sexual 

contact” making that conduct, when done without consent, a sexual felony. 

 

Section 14:  Creates an enhanced sentencing structure for assault in the second degree 

(strangulation is most often charged as assault in the second degree).   

 

Section 15:  Adds offense of enticement of a minor, sexual abuse of a minor in the third degree 

when there is a six year age difference between the perpetrator and the victim, and indecent 

viewing or production of a picture of a person under the age of 16 to the sexual felony sentencing 

statutes. 

 

Section 16:  Clarifies that any prior felony counts for the purposes of determining the 

presumptive sentencing range for a person being sentenced for a sexual felony. 

 

Section 17:  Conforming amendment: new crime of enticement of a minor clarified in the 

definition of “most serious felony.” 
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Section 18:  Adds sexual abuse of a minor in the third degree when there is a six year age 

difference between the perpetrator and the victim, indecedent viewing or production of an image 

of a person under the age of 16, and new crime of enticement of a minor to the definition of 

“sexual felony.” 

 

Section 19:  Adds a person who is required to register as a sex offender or child kidnapper in 

another jurisdiction to the definition of “sex offender or child kidnapper.” 

 

Section 20:  Adds indecent viewing or production of a picture of a person under the age of 16 or 

indecent production of a picture of an adult to the list of registerable sex offenses. Also adds 

requirement to register as a sex offender in Alaska if required to register under the laws of 

another state.  

 

Section 21:  Clarifies that a prisoner who is ineligible for a good time deduction from their 

sentence is also ineligible for discretionary parole. 

 

Section 22:  Repealer section. 

 

Section 23:  Applicability section. 

 

Section 24:  Effective date, July 1, 2019. 


