



Department of Law

CRIMINAL DIVISION

P.O. Box 110300 Juneau, Alaska 99811 Main: 907.465.3600 Fax: 907.465.2075

SB 35 Sex Offenses Highlights

- *Unwanted Contact With Semen* Amends the definition of "sexual contact" to include contact with semen making unwanted contact with semen a sex offense.
- *Strangulation Sentencing* Creates an enhanced sentencing structure for assault in the second degree thus increasing the sentencing range for strangulation from 0-2 to 1-3 years.
- *Sexual Abuse of a Minor Sentencing* Makes sexual abuse of a minor in the third degree a sexual felony when there is a *6 year age* difference, thus increasing the sentencing range from 0-2 to 2-12 years.
- *Presumptive Sex Offense Sentencing* Clarifies that *any* prior felony counts as a prior felony for presumptive sentencing purposes in sex cases. This means prior felonies, even when they are a non-sex felony, trigger an increased presumptive range for a sex offense.
- *Out Of State Sex Offender Registration* Requires anyone convicted of a registerable sex offense in another state to register in Alaska if they are present in the Alaska.
- *Indecent Viewing* Makes indecent viewing or production of a picture of a child a registerable sex offense. This conduct will also be sentenced as a sexual felony. Conduct involving the <u>production</u> of a picture of an adult would be a registerable sex offense, but sentenced as a regular class C felony.
- *Soliciting Sex From A Minor* Deletes "online" from the crime of "online enticement of a minor" making any solicitation of a minor for sex a B felony.
- *Unwanted Images Of Genitalia* Makes repeatedly sending unsolicited and unwanted images of genitalia to another person harassment in the second degree (B misdemeanor).
- *Sex Offender Parole Eligibility* Clarifies that sex offenders who are ineligible for good time credit are also ineligible for discretionary parole.
- *Marriage Defense to Sexual Assault* Repeals marriage as a defense to sexual assault except in cases where there is consent and the conduct is illegal due to the nature of the relationship but-for the marriage (probation officer/probationer, peace

Prepared by the Department of Law





CRIMINAL DIVISION

P.O. Box 110300 Juneau, Alaska 99811 Main: 907.465.3600 Fax: 907.465.2075

officer/person in custody, DJJ officer/person 18 or 19 an under the jurisdiction of the Division of Juvenile Justice).

