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Summary of Changes  
HB 79 

Version A to Version N 
 

Page 1, line 1 to Page 2, line 5: Modifies the title paragraph of the bill to reflect 
changes made. 
 
Page 2 and 21-22: Deletes Version A sections 2, 4, 41, 44, 46 and 47 relating to 
second injury fund transition. 
 
Page 4, line 6, Sec. 7: Makes a technical revision inserting “a business entity that 
is.”  
 
Page 4, lines 6 – 16, Sec. 7: Inserts “actively in charge of the operations of the 
business entity” and a person that has “the authority to insure the business entity 
or apply for a certificate of self-insurance” as persons liable for compensation 
benefits and civil penalties.  Clarifies that any person who has at least 10 percent 
ownership interest in a business entity is subject to liability for compensation 
benefits and civil penalties. 
 
Page 5, lines 3 -12, Sec. 9:  Inserts language clarifying the division’s civil penalty 
assessment must be based on substantial evidence.  Inserts language stating that 
the civil penalty assessment is based on payroll which includes payments that 
would be considered wages if the employer had not misclassified its employees. 
 
Page 6, lines 23-24, Sec. 11:  Makes a technical revision rewording the civil 
penalty assessment appeal process language to make it clearer. 
 
Page 7, lines 5-9, Sec. 12:  Makes a technical revision to sentence structure. 
 
Page 7, lines 13-18, Sec. 13:  Makes a technical revision rewording the insurance 
reporting language to make it clearer. 

 
Page 8, lines 3-8, Sec. 14:  Inserts language clarifying the estimated fee in a 
preauthorization request may not exceed the Alaska fee schedule maximum. 

 



Page 9, line 12, Sec. 15:  Deletes two publications from the reference material list. 
 
Page 9, line 13 to Page 10, line 1, Secs. 16-18: Inserted new bill sections 16-18 to 
allow electronic filing. 
 
Page 10, line 7, Sec. 19:  Deletes language allowing parties to agree to reschedule 
a hearing. 
 
Page 10, lines 11-14, Sec. 20:  Changes who may represent a claimant at a 
workers’ compensation hearing to any person authorized by regulation of the 
Alaska Workers’ Compensation Board. 
 
Page 10, line 31 to Page 11, line 8, Sec. 23:  Changes the time an installment of 
compensation must be paid to every 14 days, and clarifies that a payment grace 
period is not allowed. 
 
Page 11, lines 22-24, Sec. 24:  Inserts language stating the division will let an 
employee know when an employer has terminated or changed compensation. 
 
Page 12, lines 14-166, Sec. 25:  Inserts language stating the division will let an 
employee know when an employer has denied benefits. 
 
Page 13, lines 1-2, Sec. 26:  Makes a technical revision clarifying the penalty for 
untimely payment is 25 percent of the amount in the preauthorization request. 

 
Page 14, line 6:  Deletes Version A section 27 addressing the method by which 
benefits are paid. 
 
Page 14, lines 28-29, Sec. 29:  Inserts language allowing an employee or the 
workers’ compensation benefits guaranty fund to file a lien within one year of 
knowledge of an employee’s injury or death. 
 
Page 15, lines 14-18, Sec. 30:  Inserts language setting an end date for 
notification of possible claims against the second injury fund. 
 
Page 15, lines 19-28, Sec. 31:  Inserts language clarifying an employer must meet 
all statutory requirements for second injury fund reimbursement before submitting 
a claim for reimbursement to the second injury fund.  Clarifies that claim 
reimbursement may not be submitted for an injury or death that occurs after 
August 31, 2018, and extends the end date for the fund’s acceptance of new 
reimbursement claims to October 1, 2020. 
 

 



Page 15, line 29 – Page 18, line 15, Sec. 32:  Refines the independent contractor 
definition. 
 
Page 19, line 13, Sec. 35:  Deletes, “or knowingly fails to report a material fact.” 
 
Page 19, line 25, Sec. 36:  Deletes amendment to AS 23.30.250(b). 
 
Page 19, line 29, Sec. 36:  Deletes “An employee knowingly fails to report a 
material fact under (a) and (b) of this section if the employee does not disclose the 
receipt of unemployment or other disability benefits, or other employment, and 
the employee knowingly receives compensation under this chapter that the 
employee is not entitled to because of the receipt of the other benefits or other 
employment.” 
 
Page 20, lines 19-23, Sec. 37:  Inserts “a person who” is “actively in charge of 
the operations of the business entity, or has the authority to insure the business 
entity or apply for a certificate of self-insurance” as persons liable for failure to 
secure compensation.   
 
Page 21, lines 9-13, Sec. 38:  Inserts “a person who” is “actively in charge of the 
operations of the business entity, or has the authority to insure the business entity 
or apply for a certificate of self-insurance” as persons liable for knowingly 
disposing of assets with intent to avoid the payment of compensation to an 
employee or the employee’s dependents.   
 
Page 21, line 26, Sec. 40:  Deletes “in the service of” and inserts “employed by” 
in the definition of “employee.” 
 
Page 21, line 27, Sec. 41:  Inserts “23.30.155(q)” to the list of repealed statutes. 
 
Page 22, line 9, Sec. 42: Inserts “AS 23.30.110(d), as amended by sec. 20 of this 
Act.”   
 
Page 22, lines 14-16, Sec. 42: Inserts a new subsection (c) providing the second 
injury fund provisions in secs. 30-31 apply to notice of any possible claim or a 
claim for reimbursement submitted on or after the effective date of Secs. 30-31. 
 
Page 22, lines 17-22, Sec. 42: Inserts a new subsection (d) providing the new 
executive officer and business entity member provisions apply to an insurance 
policy or contract entered into or renewed on or after the effective date of Sec. 33, 
which is August 1, 2019. 
 

 



Page 22, lines 25-28, Sec. 43: Inserts, “Subject to appropriation, the balance of 
the second injury fund created under AS 23.30.040 lapses into the general fund 
when all liability for accepted claims under AS 23.30.205 to the second injury 
fund and claims ordered to be paid from that fund have been satisfied.” 
 
Page 23, lines 4-5, Sec. 45: Provides Secs. 30, 31, and 44 take effect 
immediately. 
 
Page 23, line 6, Sec. 46: Provides Sec. 34 takes effect September 1, 2018. 
 
Page 23, line 7, Sec. 47: Provides Sec. 33 takes effect August 1, 2019. 


