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What is the obligatory surety bond amount Appraisal Management Companies 
must take out in states with laws or regulations requiring them? 

As you know, a surety bond taken out by an Appraisal Management Company (AMC) is a financial 

guarantee—from a third party bond agent, referred to as the surety—that the AMC will follow the laws 

and regulations required in its practice. Should the AMC fail to do so, the surety is liable to the state for 

damages or losses, and may be required to compensate any other parties affected by the wrongdoing 

of the AMC.  

 

At least 23 states require AMCs to take out surety bonds. Each of those states is identified in the table 

on the following page, as well as the required bond amount for each, and the relevant statute or 

regulation.1 Of those states identified, 19 have surety bond requirements of $25,000 or less; two states 

require between $40,000 and $50,000; and two states require $100,000 surety bonds. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                            

1 This table is not intended to be a comprehensive list, but rather a glimpse of the surety bond requirements 
found across the nation. 
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Appraisal Management Company Surety Bond Requirements 

State  Amount  Authority 

Alabama   $     25,000    § 34‐27A‐55  

Arizona   $     20,000    A.R.S. § 32‐3667  

Arkansas   $     20,000    A.C.A. 17‐14‐406 (b)  

Colorado   $     25,000    C.R.S.A. § 12‐61‐706  

Georgia   $     20,000    Ga. Code Ann., § 43‐39A  

Idaho   $     25,000    I.C. § 54‐4124  

Illinois   $     25,000    225 ILCS 459/50  

Iowa   $     25,000    I.C.A. § 543E.19  

Louisiana   $     20,000    LA R.S. 37:3415.3.D(1)  

Mississippi   $     20,000    Miss. Code Ann. §73‐34‐103(1)(a)  

Missouri   $     20,000    V.A.M.S. 339.511  

Nebraska   $     25,000    Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76‐3203 (4)  

New Jersey   $     25,000    N.J.S.A. 45:14F‐35  

New Mexico   $     25,000    N. M. S. A. 1978, § 47‐14‐3.1  

North Carolina   $     25,000    N.C.G.S.A. § 93E‐2‐4  

Oregon   $     25,000    O.R.S. § 674.210  

Pennsylvania   $     40,000    049 Pa. Code § 36.352  

Tennessee   $     20,000    T.C.A. § 62‐39‐408  

Utah   $     25,000    U.A.C. R162‐2e  

Virginia   $   100,000    VA Code Ann. § 54.1‐2021.1  

Washington   $   100,000    RCWA 18.310.040  

West Virginia   $     50,000    W. Va. Code St. R. § 190‐5‐5  

Wyoming   $     25,000    W.S.1977 § 33‐39‐203  
Sources: Thomson Reuters Westlaw, and various state regulatory websites. 

 

 

We hope this is helpful.  If you have questions or need additional information, please let us know.   


