Alaska State Legislature

State Capitol Room 505
Juneau, Alaska 99801-1182
(907) 465-2689
1-800-665-2689

270 W. Pioneer Ave. Suite B

Homer, Alaska 99603
(907) 235-2921
Fax: (907) 235-4008
Kenai: (907) 283-9170

REPRESENTATIVE PAUL SEATON
Rep.Paul.Seaton@akleg.gov

HB 386: Vessels: Registration/Titles; Derelicts
30 LS1475\A
30" Legislature

Sectional Analysis
Please note that a sectional analysis of a bill or resolution should not be considered an
authoritative interpretation of the measure itself. The legislation is the best statement of its
content.

Section 1 (page 1, line 9) Requires that a boat placed on the waters of the state is to be “titled”.
Section 2 (page 2, lines 1-8) Current statute requires that all boats have a certificate of number
from the Department of Administration if operated on the waters of the state for more than 90.
This bill adds consecutive days or 60 consecutive days for barges, unless otherwise provided in
the chapter.

Section 3 (page 2, line 16-17, 31- page 3, line 5) This section adds certain barges to the list of
certain boats/vessels that are exempt from numbering and registration.

Section 4 (page 3, lines 6-14) Adds new section for adopting regulations and establishing a
system for certification of titles. Requires application for title within 30 days after purchase.

Section 5 (page 3, line 17) Inserts cross-reference.

Note: Clarifies that if someone violates 05.25.055 (boats/barges exemption) may be
fined up to $50 (there is no change to this fine).

Section 6 (page 3, lines 23, 28-30) Increases boat registrations from $24 to $30 for a three-year
period; adds barge registration fee of $75 for a three-year period, adds boat title and duplicate
boat title fee of $20.

Note: Page 4, line 3 references “the department” meaning the Department of Natural
Resources.

Section 7 (page 4, line 6-7) Adds definition of “barge”.
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Section 8 (page 4, lines 10-31) Repeals current 05.25.100 definitions and reenacts definitions
from section.23, ch. 28, SLA 2000.

Note: Definitions 1-4 are: 1) department; 2) operate; 3) watercraft; 4) water of the state.

Section 9 (page 5, lines 3-11) add “derelict” (defined in 30.30.90) to clarify existing language;
amend and add specificity “on state or municipal property”.

Note: Addition of “state... property” rather than just a port or harbor. This would extend
to tidelines and state waters outside of the harbor.

Section 10 (page 5, lines 13-18) Clarifies existing language.
Note: Inserts “impound” in place of “remove”.

Section 11 (page 5, lines 20-25) This section makes the violation of 30.30.010 a class A
misdemeanor and it raises the fine for abandoning a vessel from not less than $500 to not less
than $5,000 or more than $10,000; lowers the maximum term of imprisonment from six months
to 90 days; adds forfeiture of the person’s vessel.

Section 12 (page 5, lines 27-29) Allows the department or a municipality to report violations to
the Attorney General in order to enforce criminal penalties.

Section 13 (page 5, line 31- page 6, line 9) Adds new section allowing DNR, municipality or an
aggrieved person to file a civil injunction with a penalty of not more than $1,000 per violation.

Section 14 (page 6, lines 11-31) This section clarifies how you can leave a boat without it being
considered derelict. It allows the department to provide written authorization for a vessel left in a
location for more than 14 days.

Section 15 (page 7, lines 3-19) Clarifies language on taking custody of a vessel. Adds language
stating state agency or municipality must provide 30-day notice prior to impoundment, requires
the impounding authority to post notice on vessel when possible and online.

Section 16 (page 7, line 20 - page 8, line 18) Adds new subsections establishing pre-
impoundment notice requirements; defines the hearing procedure.

Section 17 (page 8, line 20 - page 9, line 7) Adds new section establishing requirements and
procedure for the notice of disposition after a derelict vessel has been impounded. The notice
must be published on state or municipality website and on vessel if possible, at least 30 days
before disposing of the vessel.

Section 18 (page 9, line 9 - page 10, line 3) Adds a new section providing procedures for
impoundment, sale, and transfer of title of a vessel by the state or a municipality. Section also
outlines how the state or municipality may apply the proceeds from the sale of a vessel.

Section 19 (page 10, lines 5-16) Clarification language on process of taking possession of a
derelict vessel before the vessel is disposed of; removes requirement that an interested party
taking possession of a derelict vessel post security.
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Section 20 (page 10, line 18 - page 11, line 20) Adds new section establishing procedure for the
immediate impoundment of derelict vessels that pose an imminent threat to public health, safety
or general welfare; provides for hearing process.

Section 21 (page 11, lines 21-25) Adds new section stating that the individual owning an
impounded vessel is liable for all costs incurred in the process.

Section 22 (page 11, line 27 - page 12, line 24) Clarifies the definition of a derelict vessel; adds
public health, safety and environment and provides situations that would make a vessel derelict.

Section 23 (page 12, line 26 - page 13, line 30) Adds a new section giving the department the
power to establish and administer the derelict vessel prevention program which includes
education, outreach, an advisory council. It creates a prevention program in the general fund.
The purpose is to reimburse the state and municipality for expenses, associated program/project
expenses. This section outlines how money is appropriated to the fund; clarifies the department
may use the funds without further appropriation and appropriations do not lapse.

Section 24 (page 14, line 1) Adds “floating facility” to the definition of “vessel”.

Section 25 (page 14, lines 5-18) Adds definitions for: 1) abandoned, 2) department, 3) owner, 4)
state agency.

Section 26 (page 14, lines 20-21) Names this chapter the Derelict Vessels Act.

Section 27 (page 14, line 22-24) Adds to section 37.05.146. Definition of program receipts
and non-general fund program receipts. Adds “titling” in 37.05.146 (45) boat registration and

titling program

Section 28 (page 14, lines 25-28) Adds to program receipts in section 37.05.146 Definition of
program receipts and non-general fund program receipts civil penalties collected under AS
30.30 (Sec. 13 of this bill) to be deposited to the derelict vessel prevention program fund.

Section 29 (page 14, lines 29-31) Removes 05.25.055 Registration and numbering of boats.,
and 05.25.096. Fees. from list of repealed statutes in sec. 27 ch. 28, SLA 2000; allows the fund
to remain without federal funding.

Section 30 (page 15, lines 1-2) Repeals some sections of AS 30.30, which have been replaced
with new language, see the section reference.

30.30.010.(d) Abandonment of vessel unlawful. (See Section 14)

30.30.020 Disposition of certain abandoned vessels. (See Sections 14 & 16)

30.30.050 Public auction. (See Section 18)

30.30.070 When public auction not required. (See Section 19)

30.30.080 Effect of Sale. (See Section 1)

30.30.100 Disposition of derelict vessel. (See section 18)

30.30.110 Disposition of vessels by persons in vessel repair bus. (See section18)
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30.30.120 When vessel abandoned. (See sections 15-18)
30.30.130 Sale or disposition of vessel. (See sections 15-18)
30.30.140 Disposition of proceeds. (See section 18)
30.30.150 Effect of transfer of title. (See section 18)

Section 31 (page 15, lines 3-8) Transition language allowing DNR and DOA to adopt
regulations.

Section 32 (page 15, lines 9-16) Revisor’s instruction to change two headings.

Section 33 (page 15, line 17) Section 31 takes effect immediately.

Section 34 (page 15, line 18-20) Technical; Provides effective date (as amended see, SLA 2012)
carried forward from 2000 legislation regarding federal funding of statewide boating and safety
program.

Section 35 (page 15, line 21-23) Technical; Provides effective date (as amended see, SLA 2012)
carried forward from 2000 legislation regarding federal funding of statewide boating and safety

program.

Section 36 (page 15, lines 24-25) Effective date of January 1, 2019 except as noted in sections
32-35 above.
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