
 

 

MEMORANDUM STATE OF ALASKA 
 Department of Law  
 
    To: Alaska Criminal Justice Commission          Date:  January 9, 2017 

 

From: Departments of Law and Public Safety  Subject:  Recommended Amendments  

 

The Departments of Law and Public Safety ask the Commission to consider the 

recommendations outlined below which reflect the experience of and feedback from victims, 

victim advocates, law enforcement, prosecutors, judges, and the public at large.  The first five 

recommendations are more substantive, while the second set of seven are more technical that 

address potential drafting errors, omissions, or provide clarification. 

1.) Jail Time for Class C Felonies:  SB 91 reduced the presumptive sentence for a first time 

class C felony to probation with a suspended term of 0-18 months.  AS 12.55.125(e). This 

term applies to all class C felonies including assault in the third degree, sexual abuse of a 

minor in the third degree, sex trafficking in the third degree, stalking in the first degree, 

vehicle theft in the first degree, burglary in the second degree, etc.  A person can now do 

more jail time for a misdemeanor than they can for a first time class C felony.   

 

The current authorized sentence is also less than the sentences that were authorized before 

the legislation in 2005 that created presumptive ranges in response to the case Blakely v. 

Washington.  At that time a first C felony could be sentenced up to just under 2 years – 

the presumptive term for a second C felony.   

 

Recommendation:  Amend AS 12.55.125(e) to a presumptive term of 0-18 months 

for first time class C felonies.   

 

2.) Adjust The New Aggravator For Misdemeanors To Require Only One Prior Conviction 

Instead Of Two.  SB 91 created a presumptive range for class A misdemeanors, which 

effectively capped the amount of time jail – both active and suspended - that can be 

imposed. This impacts probation for repeat DUI offenders, repeat offenders of domestic 

violence restraining orders, and repeat theft offenders among others.  Section 91 enacted 

an aggravator when the offender has two or more prior convictions for similar conduct.  

See AS 12.55.135(a)(1)(C), but this leaves little discretion to judge to suspend jail time to 

enforce probation conditions on a second offense.   

Recommendation: Amend the aggravator so it applies with only one prior 

conviction similar in nature.  This gives the judge discretion to impose the amount 

of time called for in each individual case and to incentivize complying with 

conditions of probation. 



 

 

3.) Re-enact Recidivist Statute For Low Level Theft Offenses:  Section 93 of SB 91 limits 

the available sentence for a first theft conviction under $250 to a fine and probation – no 

jail.  Under the previous law such offenses could be sentenced up to 90 days in jail. 

Also previously AS 11.46.140(a)(3) made a third theft of under $250 within five years a 

higher-level crime.  Section 179 repealed that recidivist provision for multiple thefts 

under $250.   

These changes emboldened criminals and they have become more brazen in committing 

thefts under $250.   

Recommendation: Re-enact AS 11.41.140(a)(3) to allow recidivist thefts to be 

prosecuted at a higher level.   

4.) Sex Trafficking:  Secs. 39 and 40 of SB 91 amend the crimes of sex trafficking in the 

third and fourth degrees.  These amendments were not based on recommendations of the 

Commission, but are presumably intended to prevent the state from prosecuting 

cooperatives of independent sex workers working in the same location as a trafficking 

enterprise.  However, the practical effect of Sections 39 and 40 will be to allow 

individuals to operate a place of prostitution if they claim that they themselves also 

practiced prostitution in that location because prosecutors will now have to show that the 

accused induced or caused another person to engage in prostitution, which is a much 

higher standard than the prior standard for sex trafficking in the third degree.  If the 

person did not induce or cause, then prosecutors will have to prove that the person never 

engaged in prostitution at that location.  This would be very difficult, if not impossible, 

to prove.  

 

Recommendation:  Add language to AS 11.66.130(a) and AS 11.66.135(a) 

clarifying that a person must engage in sex trafficking separately from acting as a 

prostitute receiving compensation for personally rendered services.   

 

5.) Return Violations Of Conditions Of Release To A Misdemeanor.  In 2000 violating one’s 

conditions of release on bail was turned into a crime to address issues of enforcing bail 

conditions.  SB 91 reduced this crime to a violation.  Once again, problems exist with 

enforcing bail conditions, such as whether a person violating their conditions can be 

arrested or held until the court can review those conditions.  While the court system has 

proposed adding language to bail orders, this solution has not been universally accepted 

by judges in the court system. 

Recommendation: Make violating conditions of release a class B misdemeanor 

with a maximum of 10 days in jail. 

 



 

 

The remaining seven recommendations address potential drafting errors, omissions, or provide 

clarification.  None of these recommendations conflict with previous Commission 

recommendations. 

 

1.) Add “Posting An Explicit Image of a Minor” To Exceptions To Misdemeanor 

Presumptive Sentencing Range. Sending an explicit image of a minor to another person (a 

B misdemeanor AS 11.61.116(c)(1)) has an enhanced penalty under SB 91 of up to 90 

days. However, posting an explicit image of a minor to a publically available website is 

limited to 30 days (an A misdemeanor pursuant to AS 11.61.116(c)(2)). Posting an 

explicit image of a minor to the internet is a more serious conduct than merely sending it 

to another individual. The sentencing scheme for these offenses appears to be 

inconsistent; this was not a recommendation of the Commission. 

Recommendation: Add posting an explicit image of a minor to AS 

12.55.135(a)(1)(F) to provide consistency and logic to the sentencing scheme. 

2.) Re-enact Mandatory Probation for Sex Offenders: Repealing AS 12.55.125(o) was 

proposed to resolve a conflict between that section of law and a proposed section in an 

early version of SB 91. The final version of the bill resolved the earlier conflict with AS 

12.55.125(o), but still repealed subsection (o). The full repeal of AS 12.55.125(o) means 

that a person can receive a sentence on a sex offense and not be required to serve a period 

of probation. This is a significant flaw since Alaska’s sex offender treatment program is 

what is called a “containment model.” Probation is required for that containment model 

to work. The elimination of required probation leaves a significant hole in Alaska’s 

strategy for addressing sex offenses. Since the testimony on SB 91 clearly indicates that 

the legislature did not intend to change sentences for sex offenses, it is likely that they did 

not intend to allow a sex offender to receive a sentence with no probationary period.  This 

was not a recommendation of the Commission 

Recommendation: Renact AS 12.55.125(o). 

3.) Inconsistent Probation Terms for Theft in the Fourth Degree:  SB 91 adjusts the probation 

terms for all offenses.  The maximum probation term for a person convicted of most 

misdemeanor offenses is one year.  However, for a person convicted of Theft in the 

Fourth Degree two or more times, the maximum probation term is six months.  Therefore, 

on a person’s first conviction for Theft in the Fourth Degree they can receive a maximum 

probation term of one year, however, on their third conviction they can only receive a 

probation term of six months. 

Recommendation:  Amend the probation terms for Theft in the Fourth Degree to 

be consistent. 



 

 

4.)    Driving without a Valid License:  SB 91 changed driving on a suspended license to a 

violation in most cases.  However, driving without a valid license (arguably, less serious 

conduct than driving on a suspended license) continues to be a misdemeanor. 

Recommendation:  Amend the crime of driving without a valid license to be 

consistent with the changes made for driving with a suspended/revoked license. 

5.) Clarifying Sentencing Terms for Felony DUI:  The changes to the sentencing ranges in 

felony DUI’s appears to create a presumptive term which may be imposed. There is a 

difference between a mandatory minimum term and a presumptive range.  A mandatory 

minimum term is the minimum that must be imposed upon conviction.  A presumptive 

range means that a sentence usually falls within that range unless an aggravator or 

mitigator is found.  Locating these concepts in different titles of the statutes has created 

some confusion. 

Recommendation:  Move the sentencing provisions related to DUI presumptive 

ranges to the same section of the statutes in which the mandatory minimums are 

located to ensure clarity. 

6.) Inconsistency with Shock Incarceration for Suspended Imposition of Sentence:  AS 

12.55.086 allows a court to impose jail time as a condition of probation when issuing a 

Suspended Imposition of Sentence (SIS).  This is often termed as “shock incarceration.”  

The reference to shock incarceration has been deleted in AS 12.55.125(e).  However, AS 

12.55.086 has not been repealed.  It is unclear whether the legislature intends for the court 

to continue to have the ability to impose shock incarceration for people with an SIS. 

Recommendation:  Clarify the court’s ability to impose shock incarceration. 

7.) Align Discretion Of Bail And Pretrial Services Officers To Make Recommendations 

With Judge Discretion To Impose Bail:  S.B. 91 limits the discretion of both judges and 

pretrial services officers with regard to bail.  Some of those limitations are inconsistent.  

SB 91 requires pretrial services officers to recommend that a person be released on their 

own recognizance depending on the defendant’s risk and level of offense. The table
1
 

below illustrates when pretrial services officer is required by law under SB 91 to 

recommend an OR release – even if they think a higher bail is appropriate under the 

circumstances.   

 

 

 

                                                 
1 The tables are from Practitioner Guide to SB 91 by the Alaska Criminal Justice Commission. 



 

 

 
Misdemeanors 

[exceptions2] 

Class C felonies 

[exceptions3] 
DUI/refusal FTA/VCOR Other 

Low-risk OR recommended OR recommended OR recommended 
OR presumptively 

recommended 

OR presumptively 

recommended 

Mod-risk OR recommended OR recommended OR recommended 
OR presumptively 

recommended 
SB authorized 

High-risk OR recommended OR recommended 
OR presumptively 

recommended 
SB authorized SB authorized 

Conversely, judges have the discretion to impose bail in five of those eight circumstances, 

as illustrated in the table below.  

This inconsistency was not recommended by the Commission and is illogical. 

Recommendation: Align the discretion for pre-trial services officers to make 

release recommendations in AS 33.07.030(c)and (d) (SB 91 Section 117) with the 

discretion judges have in setting bail found in AS 12.30.011 (SB 91 Section 59). 

 

                                                 
2 Exceptions for both pretrial service officers and judges:  Domestic violence offenses, person offenses, failure to 

appear, or violation of a release condition. 

3 Exceptions for both pretrial service officers and judges:  Domestic violence offenses, person offenses, or failure to 

appear. 

 Misdemeanors Class C felonies DUI/refusal FTA/VCOR Other 

Low-risk Mandatory OR Mandatory OR Presumptive OR Presumptive OR Presumptive OR 

Mod-risk Mandatory OR Presumptive OR Presumptive OR Presumptive OR SB Authorized 

High-risk Presumptive OR Presumptive OR Presumptive OR SB Authorized SB Authorized 


