

## Alaska State Legislature

## Representative Matt Claman

Session: State Capitol, Rm 118 Juneau, AK 99801 Phone: 465-4919 Interim: 1500 W. Benson Blvd., Anch, AK 99503 Phone: 269-0130

## House Bill 222 Sponsor Statement

An Act relating to the licensure of nail technicians; and providing for an effective date.

The amended House Labor & Commerce version of House Bill 222 reverses legislation passed by the 2015 Alaska State Legislature that updated the licensing requirements for Alaskan manicurists. The enrolled House Bill 131, which became effective on December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2015 increased the training requirements to become a licensed nail technician from 12 theory hours with no examination to 250 practical and theory hours with a state board examination. Prior to the passage of HB 131, manicurists could take 12 hours of coursework and receive a manicurist's license, or they could take 250 hours and become an advanced manicurist. The 2015 legislation eliminated the 12 hour license and instead required all licensees to take 250 classroom hours. The updated legislation negatively impacted practicing nail technicians seeking license renewal who were now required to take 250 hours off work to take redundant coursework. It also required all manicurists, including those seeking license renewal, to take an exam which was only offered in four languages, creating equal opportunity issues for individuals who may have difficulties with language barriers.

House Bill 222 in its original form sought to extend a grandfather clause allowing individuals who held a manicurists' license prior to December 2015 to forego the 250 hours of instruction in manicuring required of new applicants. They would still be required to prove 250 hours of prior work experience as a manicurist and take an examination. The original version also allowed test-takers to use foreign language interpreters. However, the House Finance Committee expressed their concern with the arbitrary 250 hours required. They thought this was restrictive and unnecessary for manicurists. The bill was then amended to remove the requirements of 250 hours of coursework and an exam and reverse the statutes to their prior form. The amended version will once again allow for two types of licenses; the general manicurists license requiring 12 hours of training, and the advanced manicurist license requiring 250 hours.

It is the intention of HB 222 is to remove the unnecessary burden of redundant educational training hours for experienced manicurists who practiced prior to December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2015 and extend equal opportunity to individuals who may have difficulty with language barriers.