

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, Aiaska 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

July 1, 2015

Dear licensee:

Enclosed is your application for license renewal. In addition, I would like to preview some changes to manicurist licensure that were signed into law by Governor Walker on May 29, 2015. This legislation was initiated by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers to increase the safety and sanitation of nail care in Alaska.

Below is a summary of the changes to manicuring licensing, manicuring schools, training, and scope of practice. The board will meet to discuss and propose regulations this summer to implement these changes. All affected licensees will receive a copy of the proposed regulations, and they will be posted to the board's web page at www.professionallicense.alaska.gov/boardofbarbershairdressers.

- A person licensed to practice manicuring in the state may use the title "licensed nail technician." It is the same scope
 of practice.
- Manicurists who are not licensed by 12/31/2015 must:
 - o successfully complete 250 hours of instruction in manicuring from a school licensed by the board, and
 - o pass the board-approved exam to be licensed as a nail technician.
- A 12-hour safety and sanitation course will no longer satisfy requirements for a manicurist/nail technician license on or after 1/1/2016.
- A person with a current advanced manicurist endorsement on or after 1/1/2016 is eligible to receive a new nail technician license which will expire 8/31/2017 unless renewed.
- A person who obtained a current manicurist license in another state, which required at least 250 hours of training in a school and passing a state written exam, may:
 - o apply for a nail technician license after 1/1/2016, or
 - o apply to have the advanced manicurist endorsement added to a current Alaska manicurist license no later than 12/31/2015.
- A manicurist working with a current license issued on or before 12/31/2015 may work with the license until 8/31/2017. At the 8/31/2017 renewal, this manicurist may renew one additional time through 8/31/2019 if the licensee can show proof of:
 - o 250 hours of work experience as a manicurist, and
 - o passing the board-approved exam to be licensed as a nail technician.
- Hairdressers licensed before 1/1/2016 may provide manicurist services under the scope of their license until it normally expires on 8/31/2017 and renew one additional time through 8/31/2019 with proof of:
 - o 250 hours of work experience as a manicurist, and
 - o passing the board-approved exam to be licensed as a nail technician.
- Schools of manicuring may only continue to operate after 1/1/2016 if the school complies with AS 08.13 as amended and provides a curriculum that meets the regulatory standards for an advanced manicuring license as AS 08.13.110(c) existed before 1/1/2016, or until new regulations are adopted by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers.

- Schools providing the 250-hour course for the new license must first be accredited through the Alaska Commission of Postsecondary Education (ACPE) and issued a license by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers.
- Instructors for the 250-hour manicuring course must have three years of experience as a licensed manicurist, pass the National Nail Technician written exam and instructor exam, and be issued an instructor license to provide the manicurist training.
- On or after 1/1/2016, a person must be a licensed hairdresser or barber to perform shampooing.
- On or after 1/1/2016, a person applying to be a hairdresser or barber may not combine apprentice training and school hours to satisfy the training requirements. They must complete either a 2000 hour apprenticeship under a licensed instructor or 1650 hours of training in a licensed school.

Please check the web page at www.professionallicense.alaska.gov/boardofbarbershairdressers for additional information.

Janey Hovenden
Director