State	Healthcare included in compensation statute	Other Compensation	Date Passed/Amended
Alabama	No	Minimum of \$50,000 per year of wrongful incarceration. Committee on Compensation can recommend discretionary amounts in addition to base, but legislature must appropriate funds.	Effective since 2001
California	No	Maximum of \$140 per day of wrongful incarceration, including any time spent in custody prior to incarceration.	Passed 1941, amended last in 2015.
Colorado	Yes- State-funded coverage.	\$70,000 per each year spent wrongfully incarcerated, an additional \$50,000 per year spent on death row if applicable. Tuition waivers	Effective since 2013
Connecticut	Yes- Counseling and "any other services need to facilitate reintegration into the community" (includes healthcare costs)	Compensation is determined on a case-by-case basis.	Effective since 2008
D.C.	Unclear	Compensation is provided on a case-by-case basis	Effective since 1981
Florida	No	\$50,000 annually with a cap at \$2 million, 120 hours of tuition and fees at any state-funded post-secondary program, and any fines or costs imposed at the time of the sentence	Passed 2008, amended last in 2014.
Hawaii	No	\$50,000 per year of wrongful confinement. The law also provides for additional compensation of up to \$100,000 if the court finds 'extraordinary circumstances' and up to \$10,000 in attorney's fees.	Effective since 2016
Illinois	Unclear- statute provides for "reentry services" but doesn't specify if healthcare is included.	\$85,350 for those who served up to five years \$170,000 for those who served between five and 14 years \$199,150 for those who served more than 14 years. Reimburses attorney's fees up to 25 percent of the compensation award, provides job search and placement services.	Effective since 2008
Iowa	No	\$50 per day of wrongful incarceration plus lost wages up to \$25,000 a year, plus attorney's fees.	Effective since1997
Louisiana	Yes- 6 years of state-funded medical and counseling services	\$25,000 year for each year of wrongful incarceration, with a cap of \$250,000. Costs of job or skill training for three years, tuition expenses at a community college or unit of the state university system.	Passed 2005, amended last 2011

State	Healthcare included in compensation statute	Other Compensation	Date Passed/Amended
Maine	No	Up to \$300,000	Effective since 1993
Maryland	Yes- "appropriate counseling for the individual"	Courts may grant compensation packages on a case- by-case basis	Effective 1999, amended last 2003
Massachusetts	Yes- "physical and emotional services"	Maximum of \$500,000, as well as the potential for educational services at any state or community college.	Effective since 2004
Minnesota	Yes- Reimbursement for medical and dental expenses, personal physical injuries or sickness, and any nonphysical injuries or sickness.	Reimbursement for all restitution, assessments, fees, and court costs. \$50,000 for each year of incarceration, \$25,000 for each year spent on supervised release or as a registered offender. Tuition and fees at any state post-secondary program. Child support payments.	Effective since 2014
Mississippi	No	\$50,000 for each year of wrongful incarceration with a maximum of \$500,000	Effective since 2009
Missouri	No	\$50 per day of post-conviction confinement	Effective since 2006
Montana	No	"Educational aid" only	Effective since 2003
Nebraska	Unclear	Maximum of \$50,000	Effective since 2009
New Hampshire	No	\$20,000 for the entirety of their wrongful incarceration.	Passed 1977, amended last 2010
New Jersey	Yes- State-funded health insurance coverage including counseling	Compensation for twice the amount of their income in the year prior to incarceration or \$50,000 per year of incarceration, whichever is greater. An individual may also be awarded non-monetary relief including: vocational training, tuition and housing assistance,	Effective 1997, amended most recently 2013
New York	Unclear	"Damages in such sum of money as the court determines will fairly and reasonably compensate them."	Passed 1984, amended most recently 2007
North Carolina	No	\$50,000 for each year of wrongful incarceration with a maximum of \$750,000. Also includes provision of job skills training and education tuition waivers.	Passed 1947, amended last 2008
Ohio	No	\$40,330 per year (or amount determined by state auditor) in addition to lost wages, costs, and attorney's fees	Passed 1989, amended last 2010

State	Healthcare included in compensation statute	Other Compensation	Date Passed/Amended
Oklahoma	No	\$175,000 for the entirety of their wrongful incarceration	Passed 1978, amended last 2003
Tennessee	Unclear	Total of \$1,000,000 for the entirety of a wrongful incarceration.	Passed 1984, amended last 2013
Texas	Yes- Reentry and reintegration services, and the opportunity to buy into the Texas State Employee Health Plan.	\$80,000 per year of wrongful incarceration, an annuity, as well as \$25,000 per year spent on parole or as a registered sex offender. The wrongfully convicted person is also entitled to compensation for child support payments, and tuition for up to 120 hours at a career center or public institution of higher learning,	Passed 2001, amended last 2011
Utah	No	For each year or portion of a year he was incarcerated, up to a maximum of 15 years, the monetary equivalent of the average annual non-agricultural payroll wage in Utah.	Passed 2008, amended last 2012
Vermont	Yes- up to 10 years of state-funded health care and mental and physical health care costs incurred by the claimant for the time period between his or her release and the date of award.	The court can award damages between \$30,000 and \$60,000 per year the person was incarcerated. The exoneree is also eligible for economic damages (which may include lost wages), reimbursement for attorney fees, as well as "reasonable reintegration services". The judgment amount is not subject to state income taxes.	Passed 2007, amended last 2014
Virginia	No	90% of the VA per capita personal income for each year of incarceration plus a tuition award worth \$10,000 in the VA community college system.	Passed 2004, amended last 2014
Washington	No	\$50,000 for each year of imprisonment and time spent waiting for trial; an additional \$50,000 for each year on death row; and \$25,000 for each year spent on parole, community custody or on a sex offender registry. The state would also pay for child support and attorney fees up to \$75,000.	Effective since 2013
West Virginia	Unclear	Damages that the court deems will "fairly and reasonably compensate them."	Passed 1987, amended last 2013

State	Healthcare included in compensation statute	Other Compensation	Date
			Passed/Amended
Wisconsin	Unclear	Maximum of \$25,000, including attorney fees. The	Passed 1913, amended
		Claims Board may petition legislature for additional	last 1987
		funds.	

Source: The Innocence Project Public Policy Dept. Compiled by the Office of Rep. Scott Kawasaki