

THE GREATER FAIRBANKS COMMUNITY HOSPITAL FOUNDATION

INCORPORATED Community Owner of Foirbanks Memorial Hospital, Denail Center, J. Michael Carroll Cancer Center, Fairbanks Imaging Center, The Harry & Sally Porter Heart Center, and Tanana Valley Clinic Facilities

Post Office Box 71396 Fairbanks. Alaska 99707 (907) 458-5550—Telephone (907) 458-5551—Facsimile E-mail: staff@gichf.com www.FairbanksHospitalFoundation.com

April 4, 2017

Jeff Cook
President/Trustee Emeritus
Gary Roderick
1st Vice President
Bill Vivkamore
2nd Vice President
Roger Floerchinger
Treasurer
Joe Faulhaber, Secretary/
Trustee Emeritus

Senator Mia Costello, Chair Senate Labor & Commerce Committee Capital Building Juneau, AK 99811

Trustees:

Bill Balley Scott Bell Ryan Binkley Timothy Carey, D.O. Dante Contey, M.D. Ron Davis **Bernard** Gatewood Gall Hatlan Galen Johnson Cheryl Kilgore David McNary Charlene Ostbloom Karen Perdue Benjamin A. Roth Elizabeth Schok Michael Sfraga Mark Simon, M.D. Margaret Soden Don Thibedeau **Bill Vivlamore** Matt Wilken

Becky Zaverl Trustee Emeriti:

Walter Carlo Andrea Gelvin William W. Mendenhall Richard Selfert Steve Stephens

Foundation Staff:

Executive Director & General Counsel Shelley D. Ebenal

Executive Assistant Krissy Floyd

Trustee Coordinator Missey Kohler

Project Coordinator Jan Lundquist

Development Director Jane Taffe

Chief Financial Officer Ruth Wendler

Dear Senator Costello:

Thank you for including this letter as testimony in opposition to SB 62, Repeal of Certificate of Need. In its current form, SB 62 will dismantle the current health care system serving the Interior and Northern Alaska that has taken 40 years to establish. The Greater Fairbanks Community Hospital Foundation has a history of reinvesting revenues generated from our health care system back into the needs of our people. These investments have served the small and remote population base of Interior and Northern Alaska communities by expanding services such as long-term care, cardiology and oncology. In addition, we are able to invest in programs that, by themselves, do not cover the full cost of care. Those services include mental health treatment, sexual assault/forensic nursing, diabetic care, palliative care and hospice, to name a few. Also, Tanana Valley Clinic proudly serves all Medicare patients in the Interior who need health care.

Not unlike utility regulation that protects consumer costs by preventing duplication of services and overbuilt infrastructure such as power lines or water systems, the Certificate of Need regulatory regime, even with its imperfections, provides a framework to contain costly health care development in an economic environment that is not a typical free market.

The effect of the passage of SB 62 will create unfair competition and negatively impact the financial stability of the Fairbanks Memorial Hospital, a sole community hospital. Federal mandates require hospitals to open their doors to all those in need. If given the chance, specialty clinics and/or boutique hospitals will avoid all non-profitable services. The effect of this legislation will strain hospital finances causing this region's health care system to contract. The result will be the elimination of services, reducing immediate access to care, and forcing residents to travel at great expense to seek the care they need.

The Greater Fairbanks Community Hospital Foundation requests that you not pass this legislation as written. In these times of heightened health care debate at both the state and federal level, we ask you to proceed cautiously and to protect the current health care infrastructure and the critical services afforded our residents at Fairbanks Memorial Hospital.

Sincerely,

Jeff Cook, Board President, Greater Fairbanks Community Hospital Foundation

cook1@gci.net (907) 687-8767

cc:

Senator Shelley Hughes

Senator Kevin Meyer

Senator Gary Stevens

Senator Berta Gardner

Senator Pete Kelly

Senator John Coghill Jr.

Senator Click Bishop

Representative Scott Kawasaki

Representative Steve Thompson

Representative Tammy Wilson

Representative David Guttenberg

Representative Adam Wool

Representative David Talerico