CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 19(STA)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-FIFTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY THE HOUSE STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Offered: 3/13/08 Referred: Rules

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES COGHILL, Kawasaki, Gruenberg, Gardner, Seaton, Meyer, Holmes,

Guttenberg, Doll, Ramras, Johnson, Hawker, Roses, Dahlstrom, LeDoux

SENATORS Therriault, Stevens, Wielechowski, Elton, Stedman, Ellis, Green, Dyson, Thomas, Kookesh,

McGuire, French

5

A RESOLUTION

1 Encouraging repeal of the Real ID Act of 2005.

2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS the federal government has failed to show any measurable evidence that the implementation of the Real ID Act of 2005 will make our borders more secure and better

protect our citizens from terrorism; and

6 WHEREAS the state, under the Tenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

7 States, has always exercised its exclusive power to establish standards and regulations for the

8 issuance of Alaska state driver's licenses and Alaska state identification cards; and

9 **WHEREAS** the federal government imposes a huge fiscal burden on the Division of

10 Motor Vehicles to implement the Real ID Act of 2005; and

WHEREAS noncompliance with the Real ID Act of 2005 will result in the federal

12 government punishing individual Alaskans for the actions of the state by placing limitations

on Alaska residents' freedom of travel and access to federal facilities;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature does not believe government

should wage the war on terrorism at the expense of states' rights and liberties of citizens

protected by the United States Constitution and the Bill of Rights; and be it

1	FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature does not believe the Rea
2	ID Act of 2005 will make the United States measurably safer and encourages the United
3	States Congress to repeal the Real ID Act of 2005.
4	COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable George W. Bush, Presiden
5	of the United States; the Honorable Richard B. Cheney, Vice-President of the United States
6	and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of
7	Representatives; the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S

Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska

9 delegation in Congress; and all other members of the 110th United States Congress.

8