

Alaska State Legislature

Representative Kawasaki

HB 52: Alaska Voluntary Pre-Elementary Program

Sectional Analysis

Section 1.

Establishes that elementary schools shall also consist of a pre-elementary program for children 3-5 years of age which operates in a public school.

Section 2.

Establishes that a child may enter a public school pre-elementary program if they are three years old on or before September 1st.

Section 3.

Defines "pre-elementary school" as a pre-kindergarten program provided by a school district for children ages 3-5 years or whose primary function is educational.

Section 4.

Directs the board to adopt regulations regarding funding as well as statewide and local goals. Directs the board to develop approval regulations for charter, state boarding, or public schools before they can provide domiciliary services. Directs the board to develop regulations for the certification and implementation of a statewide plan to implement early childhood education.

Section 5.

The number of schools in a district is subject to a community having an average daily membership between 10 and 100. A community with an average daily membership between 101 and 425 is considered as either one elementary school (with a pre-k program) or one secondary school. Communities with an average daily membership over 425 are administered as separate schools.

Section 6.

A school district cannot include students in their average daily membership who are part of the pre-elementary program or who receive funding other than funding from this legislation.