29-LS0605\W

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 16

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY SENATOR MCGUIRE

Introduced: 2/25/15 Referred: Senate Special Committee on the Arctic

A RESOLUTION

1	Expressing support for the Arctic Economic Council; and requesting that the United
2	States Congress express support for the Arctic Economic Council, for the chair of the
3	Arctic Economic Council to be a resident of this state, and for the structure of the Arctic
4	Economic Council leadership to mirror the rotation of the chair of the Arctic Council.
5	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:
6	WHEREAS the Arctic Council was established by the Ottawa Declaration of 1996 to
7	function as a high-level intergovernmental forum to promote cooperation, coordination, and
8	interaction across the Arctic, with the involvement of the indigenous communities and people
9	of the Arctic, and with a focus on sustainable development and environmental protection of
10	the Arctic; and
11	WHEREAS the United States of America, the Russian Federation, Finland, Norway,
12	Sweden, the Kingdom of Denmark, including Greenland and the Faroe Islands, Iceland, and
13	Canada are all member nations of the Arctic Council; and
14	WHEREAS the United States is a member nation because of the Arctic region of this

15 state; and

1	WHEREAS the Permanent Participant organizations of the Arctic Council include the
2	Inuit Circumpolar Council, the Aleut International Association, the Gwich'in Council
3	International, the Arctic Athabaskan Council, the Saami Council, and the Russian Association
4	of Indigenous Peoples of the North; and
5	WHEREAS the indigenous people of the state are represented in four of the six
6	Permanent Participant organizations; and
7	WHEREAS, in 2013, Canada assumed the chair of the Arctic Council; and
8	WHEREAS, on August 23, 2012, Steven Harper, Prime Minister of Canada,
9	appointed Minister Leona Aglukkaq as the Chair of the Arctic Council during the
10	chairmanship of Canada; and
11	WHEREAS Minister Aglukkaq is an Inuk from Iqaluit, Nunavut, Canada; and
12	WHEREAS Minister Aglukkaq is the first indigenous person to serve as chair of the
13	Arctic Council; and
14	WHEREAS Minister Aglukkaq recognizes that environmental stewardship must be
15	balanced with responsible development of natural and human resources; and
16	WHEREAS, as a result of this understanding, Minister Aglukkaq took a leadership
17	position in creating the Arctic Economic Council; and
18	WHEREAS the Arctic Economic Council is charged with fostering business
19	development in the Arctic, engaging in deeper circumpolar cooperation, and providing a
20	business perspective to the work of the Arctic Council; and
21	WHEREAS the Arctic Economic Council has the same members as the Arctic
22	Council; and
23	WHEREAS the Arctic Economic Council held its inaugural organization meeting in
24	Iqaluit, Nunavut, Canada, on September 2 - 3, 2014; and
25	WHEREAS representatives from member countries of the United States of America,
26	the Russian Federation, Finland, Norway, Sweden, the Kingdom of Denmark, Iceland, and
27	Canada attended the inaugural meeting in Iqaluit; and
28	WHEREAS representatives from the Inuit Circumpolar Conference, Arctic
29	Athabaskan Council, Gwich'in Council International, the Saami Council, and the Russian
30	Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North represented the Permanent Participants at the
31	inaugural meeting in Iqaluit; and

- WHEREAS Alaskans Drue Pearce, Gail Schubert, Lori Davey, and Bruce Harland
 represented the United States at the inaugural meeting in Iqaluit; and
- 3 **WHEREAS** indigenous resident Tara Sweeny represented the Inuit Circumpolar 4 Council as a Permanent Participant at the inaugural meeting in Iqaluit and was elected as the 5 United States representative on the executive committee of the Arctic Economic Council; and
- 6 WHEREAS the federal government had no official presence at the inaugural meeting
 7 in Iqaluit; and
- 8 **WHEREAS** the United States Arctic Economic Council delegation, consisting of 9 three state business representatives and resident Permanent Participants, is working to secure 10 the rotation of the Chair of the Arctic Economic Council to mirror the rotation of the Chair of 11 the Arctic Council; and
- WHEREAS, if the United States Arctic Economic Council delegation is successful in
 its efforts, an Alaskan will be the incoming Chair of the Arctic Economic Council in
 April 2015; and
- WHEREAS, as residents of an Arctic state, Alaskans realize the importance of balancing responsible economic development of natural and human resources and environmental stewardship; and
- WHEREAS the Alaska State Legislature recognizes that Alaskans need both
 responsible economic development and environmental stewardship to continue to thrive,
 especially in the Arctic; and
- WHEREAS Arctic indigenous people, including indigenous residents of the state,
 rely on the land and the sea to sustain traditional lifestyles; and
- WHEREAS residents of the state, including indigenous residents of the state, rely on
 revenue from responsible economic development to maintain schools, roads, communities,
 and essential public service infrastructure; and
- WHEREAS Arctic indigenous people, including indigenous residents of the state,
 have a wealth of traditional knowledge that could be incorporated into the policies that affect
 the Arctic; and
- WHEREAS the Alaska State Legislature recognizes the importance of the Arctic
 Economic Council in providing a forum for residents of the state to give input on policies and
 guiding principles regarding economic development in the Arctic; and

- WHEREAS the state holds a strategic position as the gateway to the Arctic and will
 benefit from the efforts of the Arctic Economic Council; and
 - WHEREAS the Alaska State Legislature seeks to empower the United States Arctic

3

- 4 Economic Council delegation, which consists entirely of residents of this state; and
- 5 **WHEREAS** the federal government should work to empower residents of the state, 6 especially indigenous residents of the state, as partners in the Arctic Economic Council;
- BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature expresses its confidence in and
 support for the Arctic Economic Council; and be it
- 9 FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature respectfully requests that 10 the United States Congress express support for the Arctic Economic Council, for the chair of 11 the Arctic Economic Council to be a resident of this state, and for the structure of the Arctic 12 Economic Council leadership to mirror the rotation of the chair of the Arctic Council.
- 13 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of 14 the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and 15 President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable John F. Kerry, United States Secretary of State; 16 David Balton, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Oceans and Fisheries, Bureau of Oceans and 17 International Environmental and Scientific Affairs, United States Department of State; Julia 18 Gourley, Senior Arctic Official, Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and 19 Scientific Affairs, United States Department of State; Admiral Robert J. Papp, Jr., Special 20 Representative for the Arctic, United States Department of State; Fran Ulmer, Special 21 Advisor on Arctic Science and Policy, United States Department of State; Craig Fleener, 22 Special Assistant on Arctic Policy, Office of the Governor; and the Honorable Lisa 23 Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, 24 U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.