

## RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL

Growing Alaska Through Responsible Resource Development

Founded 1975
Executive Director
Rick Rogers
2014-2015 Executive Committee
Ralph Samuels, President
Eric Fjelstad, Sr. Vice President
Lorna Shaw, Vice President
LF. "Len" Horst, Treasurer
Ethan Schutt, Secretary
Phil Cochrane, Past President
Bob Berto
Patty Bielawski

Pat Carter Ella Ede Stan Foo Tim Gallagher Paul Glavinovich Bill Jeffress Scott Jepsen Wendy Lindskoog Tom Maloney Lance Miller Kara Moriarty Hans Neidig Glenn Reed John Shively Jeanine St. John Cam Toohey Directors Jaeleen Araujo Anna Atchison Greg Baker

Tom Barrett
Greg Beischer
Jason Bergerson
Rick Boyles
Jason Brune
Bruce Bustamante
Dave Chaput
Steve Connelly
Dave Cruz
Steve Denton
Corri Feige
Mike Ferris
Carol Frase
Gideon Garcia

Stephen Grabacki
Dan Graham
Scott Habberstad
Karl Hanneman
Rock Hengen
Steve Hites
Teresa Imm
Michael Jesperson
Mike Jungreis
Christine Klein
Thomas Krzewinski

Ricky Gease

John Lau
Tom Lovas
Thomas Mack
John MacKinnon
Stephanie Madsen
Karen Matthias
Sam Mazzeo
Ron McPheters
James Mery
Lori Nelson
Tom Panamaroff
Lisa Parker

Mike Satre Joe Schierhorn Keith Silver Lorali Simon Doug Smith Phil Steyer John Sturgeon Casey Sullivan Jan Trigg Doug Ward

Judy Patrick Shannon Price

Jan Trigg Doug Ward Sinclair Wilt Ex-Officio Members Senator Lisa Murkowski Senator Dan Sullivan Congressman Don Young Governor Bill Walker Louise Stutes, Chair House Fisheries Committee, State Capitol Room 416 Juneau, AK 99801

April 3, 2015

RE: HB 119 An Act relating to the Bristol Bay Fisheries Reserve; and providing for an effective date

Dear Representative Stutes,

The Resource Development Council for Alaska (RDC) welcomes the opportunity to comment on HB119, a bill requiring legislative approval of any sulfide mine within the Bristol Bay region.

RDC is a statewide, non-profit, membership-funded organization founded in 1975. The RDC membership is comprised of individuals and companies from Alaska's oil and gas, mining, timber, tourism, and fisheries industries, as well as Alaska Native corporations, local communities, organized labor, and industry support firms. RDC's purpose is to link these diverse interests together to encourage a strong, prosperous economy for Alaskans.

RDC is strongly opposed to this bill. HB 119 simply compounds the serious problems with ballot measure 4. Ballot measure 4 undermines constitutional separations of powers and requires the Alaska Legislature to second-guess the teams of permitting specialists and scientists hired by the executive branch to implement rigorous permit standards established by statute by the legislature.

HB 119 makes ballot measure 4 worse by clarifying that the legislature will be micromanaging virtually every decision related to a large sulfide mine in Bristol Bay watershed including essentially all decisions, renewals, extensions, etc. This process is duplicative of the permitting process and we note adds considerable expense to the state with fiscal notes on record totaling over a half million dollars.

In these times of fiscal and economic uncertainty we encourage the Alaska Legislature to improve efficiencies and seek means of diversifying Alaska's economy. HB 119 creates uncertainty for companies that are both investing and contemplating investment

in Alaska. This bill sends a message that the Alaska Legislature does not trust the rigorous, science-based permitting process that is in place. Alaska has a proud record of balancing the important protections needed for our renewable fisheries resources while creating jobs and economic benefits from our below ground resources. Unfortunately even hearing a bill such as this could discourage needed investment to grow our private sector economy.

We urge all members of this committee to send a message that Alaska has a serious rigorous permitting process, and that we are open for business to those that can meet or exceed our rigorous standards – standards that will be fairly and consistently applied to all projects. Please convey this message by not passing this bill out of committee.

Thank you for your consideration of our comments.

Respectfully,

Rick Rogers

**Executive Director**