

# **Cellular Phone Use and Texting While Driving Laws**

# 7/1/2015

.

The prevalence of cellular phones, new research, and publicized crashes has started many debates related to the role cell phones play in driver distraction. This chart details sta cellular phone use and texting while driving laws.

- Hand-held Cell Phone Use Ban: 14 states, D.C., Puerto Rico, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands prohibit all drivers from using hand-held cell phones while driving.
- All Cell Phone ban: No state bans all cell phone use for all drivers, but 37 states and D.C. ban all cell phone use by novice or teen drivers, and 20 states and D.C. proh cell phone use for school bus drivers.
  - Text Messaging ban: 46 states, D.C., Puerto Rico, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands ban text messaging for all drivers.
    - . 3 states prohibit text messaging by novice or teen drivers. .
    - 3 states restrict school bus drivers from texting.

Source: Governor's Highway Safety Administration.

The box allows you to conduct a full text search or use the dropdown menu option to select a state.

	Reset Select a State				
States	Hand-held ban	All cell phone ban	Texting ban	Enforcement	Crash Data Collection
Alabama	Νο	Drivers age 16 and 17 who have held an intermediate license for less than 6 months.	All drivers	Primary: texting by all drivers Secondary: cell phone use by young drivers	
Alaska	No	No	All drivers	Primary: texting by all drivers	Yes
Arizona	No	School bus drivers	No	Primary: cell phone use by school bus drivers	
Arkansas	Drivers ages 18 to 20 years of age	School bus drivers, drivers younger than 18	All drivers	Primary: for texting by all drivers and cell phone use by school bus drivers. Secondary: for cell phone use by young drivers	Yes
Califomia	All drivers	School and transit bus drivers and drivers younger than 18	All drivers	Primary: hand heid and texting by all drivers. Secondary: all cell phone use by young drivers.	Yes
Colorado	Νο	Drivers younger than 18	All drivers	Primary: for texting by all drivers and for drivers younger than 18.	Yes
Connecticut	All drivers	Learner's permit holders, drivers younger than 18, and school bus drivers	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	
Delaware	All drivers	Learner's permit and intermediate license holders and school bus drivers	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
District of Columbia	All drivers	School bus drivers and learner's permit holders	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
Florida	No	No	All drivers (effective 10/01/13)	Secondary: for texting by all drivers.	Yes
Georgia	Drivers younger than 18	School bus drivers. Drivers younger than 18.	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
Hawali	All Drivers (effective 7-1-13)	Drivers younger than 18	All Drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	
Idaho	No	No	All Drivers	Primary: for texting by all drivers.	Yes***
Illinois	All Drivers	Learner's permit holders younger than 19, drivers	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes

			and the second		
States	Hand-held ban	All cell phone ban younger than 19, and school bus drivers	Texting ban	Enforcement	Crash Data Collection
Indiana	Νο	Drivers under the age of 18.	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
lowa	No	Learner's permit and intermediate license holders	All drivers	Primary: for drivers cell phone use by young drivers. Secondary: for texting by all drivers.	Yes
Kansas	No	Learner's permit and intermediate license holders	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
Kentucky	No	Drivers younger than 18, School Bus Drivers.	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
Louisiana	Νο	School bus drivers, learner's permit and intermediate license holders, drivers under age 18	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
Maine**	No	Learner's permit and intermediate license holders	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
Maryland	All drivers, School Bus Drivers.	Leamer's permit and intermediate license holders under 18. School bus drivers.	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses. (effective 10/01/13)	Yes
Massachusetts	Local option	School bus drivers, passenger bus drivers, drivers younger than 18.	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
Michigan	Local option	Level 1 or 2 license holders.	All drivers	Primary: for texting by all drivers and level 1 or 2 license holders.	Yes
Minnesota	Νο	School bus drivers, learner's permit holders, and provisional license holders during the first 12 months after licensing	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
<b>Aississippi</b>	No	School bus drivers.	All drivers (effective July 2015)	Primary	Yes
Aissouri	No	Νο	Drivers 21 years or younger.	Primary: Drivers 21 years of younger	
lontana	No	No	No	Not applicable	Yes
lebraska	No	Learner's permit and intermediate license holders younger than 18	All drivers	Secondary: for all offenses.	Yes
evada	All drivers	No	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
ew Hampshire	Yes	No	All drivers	Primary	
lew Jersey	All drivers	School bus drivers, and learner's permit and intermediate license holders	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
ew Mexico	Local option	Learners permit and intermediate license holders.	All Drivers	Primary: texting by all drivers.	Yes
ew York	All drivers	No	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
orth Carolina	No	Drivers younger than 18 and school bus drivers	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	
orth Dakota	Drivers younger than 18	Drivers younger than 18	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
nio	Local option	Drivers younger than 18.	All drivers	Primary: for drivers younger than 18. Secondary: for texting by all drivers.	
lahoma	Learner's permit and intermediate license	School Bus Drivers and Public Transit Drivers	All Drivers. (Eff. Nov.	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes

http://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/cellular-phone-use-and-texting-while-driving-l... 1/27/2016

# Cellular Phone Use and Texting While Driving Laws

-					
States	Hand-heid ban holders, school bus driver and public transit drivers	All cell phone ban s	Texting ban	Enforcement	Crash Data Collection
Oregon	All drivers	Drivers younger than 18	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
Pennsylvania	Local option	No	All drivers	Primary: for texting by all drivers.	Yes
Puerto Rico	All drivers		All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	
Rhode Island	Νο	School bus drivers and drivers younger than 18	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
South Carolina	No	No	All drivers	Primary	Yes***
South Dakota	No	Leamer's permit and intermediate license holders (effective 07/01/14)	All drivers (effective 07/01/14)	Secondary: for all offenses. (effective 07/01/14)	Yes
Tennéssee	No	School bus drivers, and learner's permit and intermediate license holders	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
Texas	Drivers in school crossing zones	Bus drivers. Drivers younger than 18	Bus drivers when a passenger 17 and younger is present; intermediate license holders for first 12 months, drivers in school crossing zones	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
Utah	See footnote*	Drivers under the age of 18.	All drivers	Primary for texting; secondary for talking on hand-held phone	Yes
Vermont	All drivers (effective 10/2014)	Drivers younger than 18 shall not use any portable electronic device while driving.	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	
Virgin Islands	Yes				Yes
Virginia	Νο	Drivers younger than 18 and school bus drivers	All drivers	Primary: for texting by all drivers. (effective 07/01/13) Secondary: for drivers younger than 18.	Yes
Washington	All drivers	Leamers permit and intermediate license holders.	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
West Virginia	All Drivers	Drivers younger then 18 who hold either a learner's permit or an intermediate license	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	
Wisconsin	Νο	Leamer or Intermediate License holder	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	
Wyoming	No	No	All drivers	Primary: for all offenses.	Yes
Total	All drivers: 13 states and District of Columbia, Guam, Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico.	School Bus drivers: 20 states and District of Columbia. Teen drivers: 37 states and District of Columbia.	All Drivers: 44 states and District of Columbia, Guam, Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico.	Primary for all drivers texting: 39. Secondary for all drivers texting: 5	48 and U.S. Virgin Islands and District of Columbia.

Source: Source Insurance Institute for Highway Safety 2013.

Governor's Highway Safety Association

.\* Utah considers speaking on a cell phone, without a hands-free device, to be an offense only if a driver is also committing some other moving violation (other than speeding).

\*\* Maine has a law that makes driving while distracted a traffic infraction. 29-A M.R.S.A. Sec. 2117.

\*\*\* Listed as a part of contributing factors

### NCSL Member Toolbox

### Members Resources

- · Get Involved With NCSL
- Jobs Clearinghouse
- Legislative Careers
- NCSL Staff Directories
- Staff Directories

# StateConnect Directory

# Policy & Research Resources

- Bill Information Service
- Legislative Websites
- NCSL Bookstore
- State Legislatures Magazine

# Accessibility Support

- Tel: 1-800-659-2656 or 711
- Accessibility Support
- · Accessibility Policy

# Meeting Resources

Calendar
Online Registration

# Press Room

- Media Contact
- NCSL in the News
  Press Releases

## Denver

7700 East First Place Denver, CO 80230 Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-78(

# Washington

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite Washington, D.C. 20001 Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-10f