

Department of Natural Resources

DIVISION/OF FORESTRY

550 W. 7th Avenue Anchorage, AK 99501 Main: 907.269-8463 Fax: 907.269-8931

March 24, 2015

Senator Cathy Giessel, Chair Senate Resources Committee State Capitol Room 427 Juneau AK, 99801

Dear Senator Giessel

The Alaska Board of Forestry is pleased to convey its support for CSSB 32 (RES) to broaden the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) authority for negotiated timber sales. The Board of Forestry provides a forum to discuss and resolve issues on forest practices and management of forests on state land (AS 41.17.047(b)). Board members represent diverse constituencies – the timber, fishing, and mining industries, Native corporations, professional foresters and fish and wildlife biologists, and environmental and recreational organizations.

The Board has repeatedly discussed the DNR authorities for timber sales in the context of timber industry needs in southeast Alaska, as well as the demand for long-term sales for biomass energy in the interior. In general, we strongly support use of competitive timber sales to ensure equal access to resources by all parts of the timber industry. However, we recognize that negotiated sales may be a valuable tool in specific cases, particularly to retain wood processing jobs in local communities under economic stress. The Board unanimously supports the proposed changes that provide DNR with the flexibility to use negotiated sales statewide when appropriate, subject to a best interest finding, and the requirements for Forest Land Use Plans and Five-year Schedules for Timber Sales.

Sincerely,

John "Chris" Maisch, State Forester Chair, Alaska Board of Forestry

Cc:

Senate Resources Committee

Vice Chair Senator Mia Costello
Member Senator John Coghill
Member Senator Peter Micciche
Member Senator Bert Stedman
Member Senator Bill Stoltze

Member Senator Bill Wielechowski

House Resources Committee

Co-Chair Representative Benjamin Nageak Co-Chair Representative David Talerico Vice Chair Representative Mike Hawker Representative Bob Herron Member Member Representative Craig Johnson Representative Kurt Olson Member Representative Paul Seaton Member Representative Andy Josephson Member Representative Geran Tarr Member

Alaska Board of Forestry

Ron Wolfe, Alaska Native Corporations

Eric Nichols, Forest Industry Trade Association

Wayne Nicolls, Non-governmental Professional Forester

Chris Stark, Environmental Organization

Erin McLarnon, Recreation Organization

Mark Vinsel, Commercial Fisherman's Organization

Denise Herzog, Mining Organization

Matt Cronin, Non-governmental Professional Fish/Wildlife Biologist