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Limit the use of prison for lower-

level misdemeanor offenders
Recommendation 5



Sections Addressed:
 Sec.13/30/31: Highway obstruction = violation

 Sec.22/23/24: Failure to appear = violation

 Sec.25/26/27: Violation of condition of release = violation

 Sec.28: Disorderly conduct penalty no longer 10 days

 Sec.29: Attending animal fights = violation

 Sec.32: Unlawful gambling = violation

 Sec.79: Presumptive range of 0-30 days for class A misdemeanors (exceptions)

 Sec.80: Max. imprisonment for class B misdemeanors is 10 days

 Sec.81: Sentences of imprisonment for misdemeanors 

 Sec.86/87: 2nd time DWLS mandatory min. is 10 days, no mandatory for 1st time

 Sec.89: 1st time DUI serves EM

 Sec.92: 1st time refusal to submit to chemical test serves EM

 Sec.93/94/95: Municipality can’t levy a greater penalty than the state



Vast Majority of Admissions to Prison Are 

Misdemeanants 

Source:  Alaska Dept. of Corrections
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Limit the Use of Prison For Lower Level 

Misdemeanor Offenders 

 Emphasize alternatives to prison for lower-level 

misdemeanor offenders, including: 

 Diverting first- and second-time theft under $250 dollar offenders from prison; 

 Requiring first-time DUI offenders to serve their sentences on electronic monitoring; 

 Reclassifying certain low-level misdemeanor bs as violations; 

 Lower the penalty for misdemeanor Bs to 10 days; 

 Presumptively set a zero to thirty day sentencing range 

for misdemeanor As, allowing courts to sentence above 

this range if an aggravating factor is proven

Source: Alaska Criminal Justice Commission



Revise drug penalties to focus severe 

punishments on higher-level drug 

offenders

Recommendation Six



Sections Addressed:

 Sec.1/2/40/55/141: Conforming

 Sec.33/34/35: Manufacture or delivery of >2.5 grams of a IA, 

IIA, or IIIA or manufacture of methamphetamine or 

methamphetamine precursors are MICS 3rd Degree

 Sec.36/37: Manufacture or delivery of less <2.5 grams of a 

IA, IIA, or IIIA controlled substance, or any amount of a 

schedule IVA or VA controlled substance are MICS 2nd Degree

 Sec.38/39: Consolidates simple possession of IA, IIA, IIIA, IVA 

and VA controlled substances into MICS 5th degree



Over Last Decade, More Offenders Entering 

Prison for Drug Crimes, Staying Longer 

Source:  Alaska Dept. of 

Corrections

Over past 10 years–

 admissions to prison for drug 

offenses have grown by 35%, 

 length of stay for Alaska’s 

felony drug offenders has 

increased by 16%. 
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Long Prison Sentences for Drug 

Offenders Are Ineffective 

 Low deterrent value

 The chances of a typical street-level drug transaction being 

detected are about 1 in 15,000, providing a limited deterrent. 

 Little impact on recidivism 

 Studies show that for many offenders, serving longer sentences has 

little impact on recidivism. In addition, severe punishments such 

as felony convictions and prison terms may have criminogenic 

effects, causing offenders to be more likely to commit crimes in 

the future. 

Source:  Alaska Dept. of 

Corrections



Revise Drug Penalties to Focus on 

Higher-Level Offenders 

 Reclassify simple possession as a misdemeanor offense 

 Limit the maximum penalty for first- and second-time possession to one and six month 

suspended sentences, respectively; 

 Create a tiered commercial drug statute: more than 2.5 

grams is a more serious offense than sale of less than 2.5 

grams 

 Align penalties for sale of heroin with penalties for sale 

of other serious drugs, such as methamphetamine and 

cocaine.  

Source:  Alaska Criminal Justice Commission 



Utilize inflation-adjusted property 

thresholds 

Recommendation Seven



Sections Addressed:

 Sec.14/15/16: Increases the threshold value for criminal mischief to $2,000 

 Sec.17: Increases the threshold value for criminal simulation to $2,000

 Sec.18: Increases the threshold value for misapplication of property to $2,000

 Sec.19: Increases the threshold value for defrauding creditors to $2,000

 Sec.20: Court to reference most recent property threshold set by the AJC

 Sec.21: AJC annual calculation of inflation adjustment



Over Last Decade, More Offenders Entering 

Prison for Property Crimes, Staying Longer

Source:  Alaska Dept. of 

Corrections

Over past 10 years–

 admissions to prison for 

property offenses have 

grown by 16%; and 

 length of stay for Alaska’s 

felony property offenders 

has increased by 13%. 
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Felony Theft Threshold Has Not Kept 

Pace with Inflation

Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics 
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Raising the Felony Theft Threshold 

Does Not Increase Crime Rate

 Increases in felony theft threshold not linked to 

crime 

 Between 2001 and 2011, 23 states raised their felony 

theft thresholds. In these 23 states, the change in 

threshold had no impact, up or down, in the state’s 

overall property crime rate. 

 In fact, property and larceny crime rates fell slightly 

more in the states that raised their thresholds than the 

27 states that did not. 

Source:  Alaska Criminal Justice Commission



Align non-sex felony presumptive 

ranges with prior presumptive terms 
Recommendation Eight



Sections Addressed:

 Sec.76:  Class A felony presumptive ranges

 Sec.77: Class B felony presumptive ranges

 Sec.78: Class C felony presumptive ranges



In 2005, Alaska Moved From Presumptive 

Terms to Presumptive Ranges 
Felony Class Presumptive Term (2005) Presumptive Ranges (Current) 

A Felony 

First [5] – 20 years [5 – 8] – 20 years 

First/Enhanced [7] – 20 years [7 – 11] – 20 years 

Second [10] – 20 years [10 – 14] – 20 years 

Third [15] – 20 years 15 – 20 years 

B Felony 

First [n/a] – 10 years [1 –3] – 10 years 

First/Enhanced [n/a] – 10 years [2 – 4] – 10 years 

Second [4] – 10 years [4 – 7] – 10 years 

Third [6] – 10 years 6 – 10 years 

C Felony 

First [n/a] – 5 years [0 – 2] – 5 years 

Second [2] – 5 years [2 – 4] – 5 years 

Third [3] – 5 years 3 – 5 years 

Source:  Alaska Criminal Justice Commission 



2005 Change in Felony Sentencing Led to 

Increases in Length of Stay Behind Bars 

Source:  Alaska Dept. of Corrections

From 2004 to 2014, average 

length 

of stay for: 

 Class A felonies grew 80 

percent; 

 Class B felonies grew 8 percent; 

and 

 Class C felonies grew 17 

percent. 
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Align Ranges with Prior Terms 
Felony Class Presumptive Term Presumptive Ranges (Current) ACJC Recommendation 

A Felony 

First [5] – 20 years [5 – 8] – 20 years [3 – 6] – 20 years 

First/Enhanced [7] – 20 years [7 – 11] – 20 years [5 – 9] – 20 years 

Second [10] – 20 years [10 – 14] – 20 years [8 – 12] – 20 years 

Third [15] – 20 years 15 – 20 years 13 – 20 years 

B Felony 

First [n/a] – 10 years [1 –3] – 10 years [0 – 2] – 10 years 

First/Enhanced [n/a] – 10 years [2 – 4] – 10 years [1 – 3] – 10 years 

Second [4] – 10 years [4 – 7] – 10 years [2 – 5] – 10 years 

Third [6] – 10 years 6 – 10 years 4 – 10 years 

C Felony 

First [n/a] – 5 years [0 – 2] – 5 years [0 – 18 months susp.] – 10 years 

Second [2] – 5 years [2 – 4] – 5 years [1 – 3] – 5 years

Third [3] – 5 years 3 – 5 years 2 – 5 years

Source:  Alaska Criminal Justice Commission 



Expand and streamline the use of 

discretionary parole 

Recommendation Nine



Sections Addressed:

 Sec.59: Administrative parole in sentencing reports

 Sec.62: Probation revocation process

 Sec.75: Restrict eligibility for administrative parole

 Sec.100: Mandatory parole not limited by administrative/special medical parole

 Sec.101: Condition of parole

 Sec.102: Eligibility for administrative parole, release

 Sec.103: Conditions for prisoners on parole

 Sec.104: Creation of administrative parole

 Sec.106: Expansion of discretionary parole

 Sec.107: Eligibility for discretionary parole

 Sec.108/109: Granting of discretionary parole, revocation

 Sec.110: Inmate case plan, re-entry plan pre-parole

 Sec.111: Parole application process



 Sec.112/113/114/138: Victim Notification

 Sec.115: Hearing process for discretionary parole

 Sec.116: Conditions of release for administrative parole 

 Sec.117/118/119/120/121: Mandatory conditions of parole

 Sec.122: Commissioner responsible for implementing administrative parole

 Sec.123: Parole Board custody of parolees

 Sec.124: Reduces the period of time before a parolee becomes eligible for 

unconditional discharge from parole



Parole Eligibility Applied Inconsistently

Source:  Alaska Criminal Justice Commission 

Offense No prior felony One prior felony Two prior felonies 

Unclassified Felony Eligible Eligible Eligible 

A Felony Not eligible Not eligible Not eligible 

B Felony Eligible Not eligible Not eligible 

C Felony Eligible Eligible Not eligible 

Current Parole Eligibility 



For Those Who are Eligible, Parole 

Underutilized 

Source:  Alaska Dept. of Corrections

• On any given month in 2014, an average of 463 
inmates were eligible for discretionary parole, and 
an average of only 15 parole hearings were held. 

• Anecdotal reports point to long waits for parole 
hearings and archaic and confusing application 
procedures as reasons why offenders choose not to 
apply for parole. 



Expand and Streamline Discretionary 

Parole 

 Extend discretionary parole eligibility to all felony 

offenders except class A and Unclassified felony 

offenders with prior felony convictions; 

 Streamline parole hearings for lower-level felonies (first 

time class C and B felony offenders); and 

 Require that any other offender who is parole eligible 

receives a hearing at least 90 days before his or her 

eligibility date. 

Source:  Alaska Criminal Justice Commission



Implement a specialty parole option 

for long-term geriatric inmates

Recommendation 10



Sections Addressed:

 Sec.105: Expansion of discretionary parole to 

inmates at 55 years of age after 10 years of their 

sentence



Alaska’s Prison Population Aging Quickly 

Over Last 10 Years  
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Oldest Offenders Expensive to House, 

Least Likely to Recidivate Upon Release 

Source:  Alaska Judicial Council 
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Implement a specialty parole valve for 

long-term geriatric inmates 

 Provide for automatic parole hearings for offenders 

who are over 55 and have served more than 10 years of 

their sentence. 

 Still discretionary – up to parole board

Source:  Alaska Criminal Justice Commission



Incentivize completion of treatment 

for sex offenders with an earned time 

policy 

Recommendation Eleven



Sections Addressed:

 Sec.136: Earned credit for treatment



Over Last Decade, Sex Offender Length 

of Stay Nearly Doubled

Source:  Alaska Dept. of Corrections

Over past 10 years–

 length of stay for Alaska’s 

felony sex offenders has 

increased by 86%; and  

 Alaska’s sex offender 

population has grown by 

38%. 
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Sex Offender Treatment Proven to Work, 

But Underfunded in Alaska 

 Sex offender treatment proven to work 

 A cost-benefit analysis compiling all credible 

evaluations of sex offender treatment found that in-

prison treatment had a cost-benefit ratio of $1.87 (i.e. 

for every $1 spent on treatment, there is a $1.87 dollar 

benefit returned to the state and state residents). 

 In Alaska, need for treatment outstrips supply 

 Currently, the waitlist for in-prison sex offender 

treatment is at least four years long – need more beds

Source:  Alaska Criminal Justice 

Commission



Questions?


