Montana Code Annotated 61-5-205

61-5-205 Mandatory revocation or suspension of license upon certain convictions — duration of action — exceptions.

(1) The department shall revoke an individual's driver's license or driving privilege if the department receives notice from a court or another licensing jurisdiction that the individual has been convicted of any of the following offenses:

- (a) negligent homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;
- (b) any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;
- (c) failure to stop and render aid as required under the laws of this state in the event of a motor vehicle accident resulting in the death or personal injury of another;
- (d) perjury or the making of a false affidavit or statement under oath to the department under this chapter or under any other law relating to the ownership or operation of motor vehicles;
- (e) fleeing from or eluding a peace officer; or
- (f) negligent vehicular assault as defined in 45-5-205 involving a motor vehicle.

(2) The department shall suspend an individual's driver's license or driving privilege if the department receives notice from a court or another licensing jurisdiction that the individual has been convicted of any of the following offenses:

- (a) a driving offense under 61-8-401, 61-8-406, or 61-8-411;
- (b) three reckless driving offenses committed within a period of 12 months; or
- (c) a theft offense under 45-6-301 if the theft consisted of theft of motor vehicle fuel and a motor vehicle was used in the commission of the offense.

(3) A revocation under subsections (1)(a), (1)(b), and (1)(d) through (1)(f) must be for a period of 1 year. A revocation under subsection (1)(c) must be for a period of 2 years if the offender received a felony conviction under 61-7-103.

(4)

- (a) Except as provided in subsections (4)(b) and (4)(c), a suspension under subsection (2) must be for a period of 1 year.
- (b) A suspension under subsection (2)(a) must be for the period set forth in 61-5-208.
- (c) A suspension under subsection (2)(c) must be for one of the following periods:(i) 30 days for a first offense;
 - (ii) 6 months for a second offense; and
 - (iii) 1 year for a third or subsequent offense.

Montana Code Annotated 61-5-206

61-5-206 Authority of department to suspend license or driving privilege — right to hearing.

(1) The department may suspend the driver's license or driving privilege of a driver without preliminary hearing upon a showing by its records or other sufficient evidence that the licensee:

- (a) has committed or permitted an unlawful or fraudulent use of the license as specified in 61-5-302;
- (b) has falsified the licensee's date of birth on the application for a driver's license;
- (c) is under 21 years of age and has altered the licensee's or another's driver's license, identification card, or tribal identification card to obtain alcohol; or
- (d) has authorized another to use the licensee's driver's license, identification card, or tribal identification card to obtain alcohol.

(2) If the department suspends a driver's license under 61-5-207 or this section or reinstates a license suspension or revocation upon conviction or forfeiture of bail not vacated of any traffic violation by a person who holds a probationary driver's license under 61-2-302, the department shall immediately notify the licensee in writing and upon the licensee's request shall afford the licensee an opportunity for a hearing as early as practical, within 20 days after receipt of the request, in the county in which the licensee resides unless the department and the licensee agree that the hearing may be held in some other county. At the hearing, the department through its authorized agent may administer oaths and may issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses and the production of relevant books and papers and may require a reexamination of the licensee. At the hearing, the department shall either rescind its order of suspension or, for good cause, may affirm, reduce, or extend the period of suspension of the licensee.

Montana Code Annotated 61-8-401

61-8-401 Driving under influence of alcohol or drugs — definitions.

(1) It is unlawful and punishable, as provided in 61-8-442, 61-8-714, and 61-8-731 through 61-8-734, for a person who is under the influence of:

- (a) alcohol to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle upon the ways of this state open to the public;
- (b) a dangerous drug to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle within this state;
- (c) any other drug to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle within this state; or
- (d) alcohol and any dangerous or other drug to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle within this state.

(2) The fact that any person charged with a violation of subsection (1) is or has been entitled to use alcohol or a drug under the laws of this state does not constitute a defense against any charge of violating subsection (1).

(3)

- (a) "Under the influence" means that as a result of taking into the body alcohol, drugs, or any combination of alcohol and drugs, a person's ability to safely operate a vehicle has been diminished.
- (b) Subject to 61-8-440, as used in this part, "vehicle" has the meaning provided in 61-1-101, except that the term does not include a bicycle.

(4) Upon the trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding arising out of acts alleged to have been committed by any person driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, the concentration of alcohol in the person at the time of a test, as shown by analysis of a sample of the person's blood or breath drawn or taken within a reasonable time after the alleged act, gives rise to the following inferences:

- (a) If there was at that time an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or less, it may be inferred that the person was not under the influence of alcohol.
- (b) If there was at that time an alcohol concentration in excess of 0.04 but less than 0.08, that fact may not give rise to any inference that the person was or was not under the influence of alcohol, but the fact may be considered with other competent evidence in determining the guilt or innocence of the person.
- (c) If there was at that time an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, it may be inferred that the person was under the influence of alcohol. The inference is rebuttable.

(5) The provisions of subsection (4) do not limit the introduction of any other competent evidence bearing upon the issue of whether the person was under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of alcohol and drugs.

(6) Each municipality in this state is given authority to enact 61-8-406, 61-8-408, 61-8-410, 61-8-411, 61-8-714, 61-8-722, 61-8-731 through 61-8-734, and subsections (1) through (5) of this section, with the word "state" in 61-8-406, 61-8-411, and subsection (1) of this section changed to read "municipality", as an ordinance and is given jurisdiction of the enforcement of the ordinance and of the imposition of the fines and penalties provided in the ordinance.

(7) Absolute liability as provided in 45-2-104 is imposed for a violation of this section.

Montana Code Annotated 61-8-402

Title 61: Motor Vehicles Chapter 8: Traffic Regulations Part 4: Driving Under Influence of Alcohol or Drugs

61-8-402 Implied consent — blood or breath tests for alcohol, drugs, or both — refusal to submit to test — administrative license suspension.

(1) A person who operates or is in actual physical control of a vehicle upon ways of this state open to the public is considered to have given consent to a test or tests of the person's blood or breath for the purpose of determining any measured amount or detected presence of alcohol or drugs in the person's body.

(2) (a) The test or tests must be administered at the direction of a peace officer when:

- (i) the officer has reasonable grounds to believe that the person has been driving or has been in actual physical control of a vehicle upon ways of this state open to the public while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two and the person has been placed under arrest for a violation of 61-8-401 or 61-8-465;
- (ii) the person is under the age of 21 and has been placed under arrest for a violation of 61-8-410; or
- (iii) the officer has probable cause to believe that the person was driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle:
 - (A) in violation of 61-8-401 and the person has been involved in a motor vehicle accident or collision resulting in property damage;
 - **(B)** involved in a motor vehicle accident or collision resulting in serious bodily injury, as defined in 45-2-101, or death; or
 - **(C)** in violation of 61-8-465.
 - (b) The arresting or investigating officer may designate which test or tests are administered.

(3) A person who is unconscious or who is otherwise in a condition rendering the person incapable of refusal is considered not to have withdrawn the consent provided by subsection (1).

(4) If an arrested person refuses to submit to one or more tests requested and designated by the officer as provided in subsection (2), the refused test or tests may not be given except as provided in subsection (5), but the officer shall, on behalf of the department, immediately seize the person's driver's license. The peace officer shall immediately forward the license to

the department, along with a report certified under penalty of law stating which of the conditions set forth in subsection (2)(a) provides the basis for the testing request and confirming that the person refused to submit to one or more tests requested and designated by the peace officer. Upon receipt of the report, the department shall suspend the license for the period provided in subsection (7).

(5) If the arrested person has refused to provide a breath, blood, or urine sample under 61-8-409 or this section in a prior investigation in this state or under a substantially similar statute in another jurisdiction or the arrested person has a prior conviction or pending offense for a violation of 45-5-104, 45-5-106, 45-5-205, 61-8-401, 61-8-406, or 61-8-411 or a similar statute in another jurisdiction, the officer may apply for a search warrant to be issued pursuant to 46-5-224 to collect a sample of the person's blood for testing.

(6) Upon seizure of a driver's license, the peace officer shall issue, on behalf of the department, a temporary driving permit, which is effective 12 hours after issuance and is valid for 5 days following the date of issuance, and shall provide the driver with written notice of the license suspension and the right to a hearing provided in 61-8-403.

(7) (a) Except as provided in subsection (7)(b), the following suspension periods are applicable upon refusal to submit to one or more tests:

- (i) upon a first refusal, a suspension of 6 months with no provision for a restricted probationary license;
- (ii) upon a second or subsequent refusal within 5 years of a previous refusal, as determined from the records of the department, a suspension of 1 year with no provision for a restricted probationary license.
 - (b) If a person who refuses to submit to one or more tests under this section is the holder of a commercial driver's license, in addition to any action taken against the driver's noncommercial driving privileges, the department shall:
 - (i) upon a first refusal, suspend the person's commercial driver's license for a 1-year period; and
 - (ii) upon a second or subsequent refusal, suspend the person's commercial driver's license for life, subject to department rules adopted to implement federal rules allowing for license reinstatement, if the person is otherwise eligible, upon completion of a minimum suspension period of 10 years. If the person has a prior conviction of a major offense listed in 61-8-802(2) arising from a separate incident, the conviction has the same effect as a previous testing refusal for purposes of this subsection (7)(b).

(8) A nonresident driver's license seized under this section must be sent by the department to the licensing authority of the nonresident's home state with a report of the nonresident's refusal to submit to one or more tests.

(9) The department may recognize the seizure of a license of a tribal member by a peace officer acting under the authority of a tribal government or an order issued by a tribal court suspending, revoking, or reinstating a license or adjudicating a license seizure if the actions are conducted pursuant to tribal law or regulation requiring alcohol or drug testing of motor vehicle operators and the conduct giving rise to the actions occurred within the exterior boundaries of a federally recognized Indian reservation in this state. Action by the department under this subsection is not reviewable under 61-8-403.

(10) A suspension under this section is subject to review as provided in this part.

(11) This section does not apply to tests, samples, and analyses of blood or breath used for purposes of medical treatment or care of an injured motorist, related to a lawful seizure for a suspected violation of an offense not in this part, or performed pursuant to a search warrant.

(12) This section does not prohibit the release of information obtained from tests, samples, and analyses of blood or breath for law enforcement purposes as provided in 46-4-301 and 61-8-405(6).