

Department of Natural Resources

DIVISION OF GEOLOGICAL & GEOPHYSICAL SURVEYS

☑ 3354 College Road Fairbanks, Alaska 99709-3707 Main: 907.451.5010 Fax: 907.451.5050

☐ Geologic Materials Center

3651 Penland Parkway Anchorage, Alaska 99508 Main: 907.696.0079 Fax: 907.696.0078

February 16, 2016

Senator Cathy Giessel State Capitol Room 427 Juneau AK, 99801

Dear Senator Giessel,

Thank you for sponsoring legislation to provide the Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys fee collection authority to offset the cost of services provided at the new Geological Material Center (GMC) in Anchorage. This legislation is important to ensure the long-term viability of the facility, and to reduce the impact of the facility on the State's operating budget.

During planning this new facility the concept of charging for services was considered from the onset. We reviewed fee schedules from other similar facilities in the United States and Canada, and have been considering the range of fees charged at these facilities during our planning process. During the regulatory process the proposed fees will be reviewed by the Department of Law, and made available for public input. While the fee schedule has not been finalized, we share with you our intentions that:

- We will not charge for donations.
- Fees will be waived, or greatly reduced for other government agencies and academic research.
- Fees will be mid-range when compared to other U.S. and Canadian geologic material centers, with a fee structure that charges similar fees for similar services offered at other facilities around the country.

It is our intent to have a vibrant and well used facility, which meets the needs of the users, and continues to promote natural resource development and scientific research. We do not wish or intend to drive away potential users with high fees, which would be counterproductive to the overall goals of the GMC, and not in the best interest of the State.

Sincerely,

Steven Masterman
State Geologist and Director

907.451.5007

cc: Courtney Sanborn, Legislative Liaison, DNR
Marty Rutherford, Deputy Commissioner, DNR

Ed Fogels, Deputy Commissioner, DNR