SENATOR PETER A. MICCICHE

Alaska State Legislature

SESSION ADDRESS: Alaska State Capitol, Rm. 514 Juneau, Alaska 99801-1182 Phone: (907) 465-2828 Fax: (907) 465-4779 Toll Free: (800) 964-5733



INTERIM ADDRES 145 Main Street Loop, Suite #22 Kenai, Alaska 99611-77 Phone: (907) 283-799 Fax: (907) 283-817 Toll Free: (800) 964-573

SB 165 Sectional Summary

DISTRICTO

Bear Creek

Cooper Landing

Crown Point

Funny River

Hope

Kalifornsky Kenai

Lowell Point

Mackey Lake

Moose Pass

Nikiski

Primrose

Ridgeway

Salumettof

Seward

Soldoma

Sterling

Section 1 - Repeals and reenacts AS 04.06.020, relating to the appointment, reappointment and qualifications of members of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board; Governor consideration of executive director experience when making board appointments; and establishing definitions.

Section 2 - In AS 04.06.030, Terms of office; chair - changes "chairman" to "chair".

Section 3 - In AS 04.06.050, Meetings - changes "chairman" to "chair".

Section 4 - Amends AS 04.16.049(a), relating to access by minors to licensed premises; adds a reference to 04.11.110 permitting access to club premises by a person under 21 years of age if no alcoholic beverages are present or if the person has an active duty military card; changes "age of 21 years" to "21 years of age" to conform to current drafting style, and; identifies circumstances under which minors may be employed on licensed premises.

Section 5 - Amends AS 04.16.049(b), changing "age of 21 years" to "21 years of age" to conform to current drafting style.

Section 6 - Amends AS 04.16.049(c), allowing juveniles, 16 & 17 years of age, to be employed on golf course licensed premises as long as they have written consent of guardian or parent, and an exemption granted by the Department of Labor.

Section 7 – Amends AS 04.16.049(d), to allow minors, 18 – 20 years of age, to be employed within the licensed premises of a golf course as long as they do not sell, serve, deliver, or dispense alcoholic beverages.

Section 8 - Adds a new subsection (g) to AS 04.16.049 to permit access by minors to golf courses for the purpose of playing golf. Adds new subsections making unauthorized presence by a minor on licensed premises a violation, punishable by a fine of \$500, which must be charged and filed with the court as a separate case. The fine may be reduced by a court to \$50 if the minor supplies proof of completion of an alcohol safety action program.

<u>Section</u> 9 – Repeals and reenacts AS 04.16.050 to make minor consuming a violation, punishable by a fine of \$500, which must be charged and filed with the court as a separate case. The fine may be reduced by a court to \$50 if the minor supplies proof of completion of an alcohol safety action program.

Section 10 — Amends AS 04.16.180(d) so that the court may not require a person under 21 years of age convicted of a violation under this chapter to pay for and enroll in a juvenile alcohol safety action program.

<u>Section 11</u> – Modifies the required language for warning signs on licensed or designated premises in AS 04.21.065(b).

<u>Section 12</u> – Adds a new provision in 04.21.078 barring the court system from publishing on a publicly available website the record of a violation of AS 04.16.049 or 04.16.050 if the violation was charged separately and was not joined with another minor offense or criminal charge.

<u>Section 13</u> – Amends AS 21.36.210(a) *Limits on cancellation,* to remove a reference to AS 21.96.027 due to repeal and reenactment of AS 04.16.050.

<u>Section 14</u> – Amends AS 28.15.057(a) Restrictions on driver's license issued to person under 18, to reflect the repeal and reenactment of AS 04.16.050.

<u>Section 15</u> – Amends AS 28.15.191(a) Court and parole board reports to department removes court requirement to forward to DMV a record of a minor consuming alcohol violation conviction within five working days.

<u>Section 16</u> – Amends AS 28.15.211(g) removing reference to DMV not issuing or reissuing a driver's license to a person whose license was revoked for an offense under 04.16.050.

<u>Section 17</u> – Amends the uncodified law of the State of Alaska, adding a new section describing a Direct Court Rule Amendment to Rule 17(a), Alaska Rules of Minor Offense Procedure.

Section 18 - Amends the uncodified law of the State of Alaska, adding a new subsection (g) to Rule 17, Alaska Rules of Minor Offense Procedure, providing that a prosecutor may not join a minor offense for a violation of AS04.16.049 or AS 04.16.050 with a related criminal offense.

<u>Section 19</u> – Repeals various sections that have to do with denial, cancelation or non-renewal of insurance for minor consuming violations, court revocation of a driver's license for minor consuming alcohol, and Health & Social Services agreements under Delinquent Minor rules to revoke a driver's license for minor consuming alcohol offenses.

Section 20 – Applicability provisions.

Section 21 – Transition provisions relating to membership on the ABC Board.