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October 27, 2015 

Alaska Association of Realtors 
4205 Minnesota Drive 
Anchorage, AK 99503 

Dear Realtors: 

Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development 
ALASKA REAL EST ATE COMMISSION 

550 Wesl Sevenlh Avenue, Suile 1500 
Ancl1orage, AK 99501-3567 

Main: 907.269.8162 
Fox: 907 .269 .8156 

At the September meeting of the Real Estate Commission (REC), a motion was passed to 
request assistance from the Alaska Association of Realtors to lobby the Legislature for a change 
in Broker education requirements and experience. 

Currently, the Alaska statute 08.88.171(c), requires that a Salesperson seeking to upgrade to an 
Associate Broker or Broker must take 15 hours of Broker Upgrade education and have been 
licensed as a Salesperson for 24 months. 

The Real Estate Commission would like to see this statute change by making a Salesperson take 
30 hours of Broker Upgrade education and be licensed as a Salesperson for 48 months. 

The Commission heard from numerous licensees during the public comment period of this 
meeting and many of those licensees addressed the issue of increasing education hours, 
specifically, Broker education. 

The Commission appreciates any assistance with this proposed change to our statutes. If REC 
staff can be of any assistance or answer any questions you may have regarding this request, 
please email or call the Commission office. 

Thank you for your consideration of this matter. 

Respectfully, 

Sharon J. Walsh, Administrator 
Alaska Real Estate Commission 
907.269.8197 


