

## Advisory Board

Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities P.O. Box 196900 • Anchorage, AK 99519-6900

Lee Ryan Chair Unalakleet 2<sup>nd</sup> Judicial District

Jim Dodson Vice-Chair Fairbanks Mayor's of City of Fairbanks and North Star Borough

Tom George Fairbanks Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

Robert Hajdukovich Fairbanks Alaska Air Carriers Association

David Karp Anchorage Alaska International Airports System Operating Agreement Signatory

Ken Lythgoe Anchorage Non-Airline Tenants

Dale Shaw Anchorage All-Cargo Air Carrier

Frank Neitz Bethel Unorganized Borough

Tom Nicolos Barrow North Stope Borough-Airports and Landfills

Mike Stedman Juneau Regional Air Carrier

Steve Strait Anchorage Mayor of the Municipality of Anchorage Representative

## Aviation Advisory Board Resolution No. 2015-1

## Resolution Supporting Revenue Enhancement for the Rural Alaska Aviation System

Whereas, the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities (ADOT&PF) has responsibility for operating and maintaining 247 rural public airports; and

Whereas, additional revenue is needed to support the operation and maintenance of the rural aviation system; and

**Whereas**, the Governor requested the Aviation Advisory Board to work with ADOT&PF leadership to explore various revenue opportunities for the rural aviation system

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED:** In order to help support the sustained operations of the Alaska Rural Aviation System, the Aviation Advisory Board recommends increasing the motor fuel tax (avgas and jet fuel) to 10 cents/gal, at or below \$100/barrel ANS crude market price, and indexed annually to return to current levels at or above \$140/barrel ANS crude.

This recommendation is predicated on the revenues being used to support the aviation system outside the Alaska International Airport System, and further statewide revenue generation and increased operating efficiencies.

Signed:

Lee M. Ryan, Aviation Advisory Board Chair

Date: August 26, 2015