29-LS0265\A

## **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 7**

## IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

## TWENTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY SENATORS WIELECHOWSKI, Ellis, McGuire, Coghill, Micciche, Egan, Stevens, Gardner, Olson, Costello, Stoltze, Meyer

**REPRESENTATIVES Kawasaki, Muñoz** 

Introduced: 1/21/15 Referred: State Affairs

## A RESOLUTION

1	Supporting the construction by American Indian Veterans Memorial, Inc., of an Alaska
2	Native, American Indian, and Native Hawaiian veterans' monument in the nation's
3	capital.
4	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:
5	WHEREAS Native Americans, including American Indians, Alaska Natives, and
6	Native Hawaiians, have established a distinguished legacy within every branch of the armed
7	forces of the United States; and
8	WHEREAS Native Americans have fought in every war and conflict of the United
9	States since the Revolutionary War; and
10	WHEREAS more than 12,000 Native Americans volunteered to serve in World War
11	I, despite denial of American citizenship; and
12	WHEREAS the adaptation of indigenous languages by Native American code talkers
13	was fundamental for strategic communications by the United States and its allies during
14	World War I and World War II; and
15	WHEREAS 42,000 Native Americans served in the Vietnam Conflict, 90 percent of

1 whom enlisted voluntarily; and

- 2 WHEREAS 32 Native Americans have been awarded the Congressional Medal of
  3 Honor; and
- WHEREAS the population of living Native American veterans exceeds 151,000
  across the country, including 5,500 Alaska Natives; and
- 6 WHEREAS the patriotism, sacrifice, and dedication to service exhibited by Native
  7 American veterans is not formally recognized in the nation's capital;
- 8 **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature supports the construction by 9 American Indian Veterans Memorial, Inc., of an Alaska Native, American Indian, and Native 10 Hawaiian veterans' monument in the nation's capital.
- 11 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of 12 the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and 13 President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable John Boehner, Speaker of the U.S. House of 14 Representatives; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; 15 Elizabeth Bates, Project Manager, American Indian Veterans Memorial, Inc.; and the 16 Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the 17 Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.