29-LS0401\E

CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 8(ENE)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY THE HOUSE SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON ENERGY

Offered: 2/20/15 Referred: Resources

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES TALERICO, Colver, Lynn, Millett, Hughes, Vazquez

A RESOLUTION

1	Urging the federal government to exempt the state from the Clean Power Plan and
2	empower the state to protect the state's access to affordable and reliable electrical
3	generation.
4	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:
5	WHEREAS the overreach by the United States Environmental Protection Agency
6	continues to erode state rights; and
7	WHEREAS the United States Environment Protection Agency has proposed rules
8	establishing carbon emissions goals for existing electrical power generators; and
9	WHEREAS especially egregious is the Clean Power Plan for existing power plants,
10	which places unprecedented regulations on the nation's energy producers and threatens access
11	to affordable and reliable energy solutions for this and other states; and
12	WHEREAS the state has joined with other states in asserting that the Clean Power
13	Plan is unlawful and, in comprehensive comments, has asked to be exempt; and
14	WHEREAS states must outline measures for meeting Clean Power Plan goals in state
15	plans that will be federally enforceable by the Environmental Protection Agency and through

1 citizen suits: and

- 2 WHEREAS the application of the goals of the Clean Power Plan to the state is 3 fundamentally flawed because the goals rely on interconnection with the North American 4 grid, to which the state is not connected; and
- 5 WHEREAS the Regulatory Commission of Alaska should be empowered to make 6 decisions with methodology based on the lowest production costs for electrical generation; 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS electric rate payers in the state are harmed by rate increases brought on 9 by universal federal regulations that are inappropriate for the state; and
- 10 WHEREAS the state would benefit from minimal electrical rate increases; and
- 11 WHEREAS utilities, communities, residents, and commercial entities should be 12 protected from any attempts to close a coal-fired power plant in the state; and
- 13 WHEREAS the state needs coal-fired power plants to ensure the reliability of the 14 electrical energy grid; and
- 15 WHEREAS the loss of other traditional electrical generation methods may cause 16 natural gas plants to be overused or used in ways that exceed their engineered design; and
- 17 WHEREAS renewable energy and energy efficiency measures have been 18 implemented at significant cost to the state, but will not be credited to the carbon goal of the 19 state; and
- 20 WHEREAS the Clean Power Plan will require the premature retirement of the Healy 21 Unit 1 coal plant, underutilization or premature retirement of the Healy Unit 2 coal plant, and 22 significant new investment in renewable energy and energy efficiency; and
- 23 WHEREAS fostering the development and preservation of reliable, affordable, and environmentally safe electricity for communities, homes, and businesses in the state is an 24 25 essential state activity; and
- 26

WHEREAS the state is better able to deal with the issues described in this resolution 27 than the federal government;

28 **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature urges the federal government to 29 exempt the state from the Clean Power Plan and empower the state government, which is accountable to the people of the state, to regulate its own energy production and use in order 30 31 to protect access to affordable and reliable electrical generation for residents of the state.

CSHJR 8(ENE)

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of 1 2 the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable John Boehner, Speaker of the U.S. House of 3 4 Representatives; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Orrin Hatch, President pro tempore of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Gina 5 6 McCarthy, Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; the Honorable Janet 7 McCabe, acting Assistant Administrator for the Office of Air and Radiation, U.S. 8 Environmental Protection Agency; the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the 9 Alaska delegation in Congress; and all other members of the 114th United States Congress. 10