29-LS0401\H Nauman 2/16/15

## CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 8( )

# IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

### TWENTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

Offered:

Referred:

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES TALERICO, Colver, Lynn, Millett, Hughes, Vazquez

### **A RESOLUTION**

Urging the federal government to exempt the state from the Clean Power Plan and empower the state to protect the state's access to affordable and reliable electrical generation.

#### BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

**WHEREAS** the overreach by the United States Environmental Protection Agency continues to erode state rights; and

**WHEREAS** the United States Environment Protection Agency has proposed rules establishing carbon emissions goals for existing electrical power generators; and

**WHEREAS** especially egregious is the Clean Power Plan for existing power plants, which places unprecedented regulations on the nation's energy producers and threatens access to affordable and reliable energy solutions for this and other states; and

**WHEREAS** the state has joined with other states in asserting that the Clean Power Plan is unlawful and, in comprehensive comments, has asked to be exempt; and

WHEREAS states must outline measures for meeting Clean Power Plan goals in state plans that will be federally enforceable by the Environmental Protection Agency and through

CSHJR 8( )

citizen suits; and

234

5 6

7

8

11 12

10

14 15

13

161718

19 20

21

222324

2627

25

29

28

3031

WHEREAS the application of the goals of the Clean Power Plan to the state is fundamentally flawed because the goals rely on interconnection with the North American

grid, to which the state is not connected; and

WHEREAS the Regulatory Commission of Alaska should be empowered to make decisions with methodology based on the lowest production costs for electrical generation; and

**WHEREAS** electric rate payers in the state are harmed by rate increases brought on by universal federal regulations that are inappropriate for the state; and

WHEREAS the state would benefit from minimal electrical rate increases; and

**WHEREAS** utilities, communities, residents, and commercial entities should be protected from any attempts to close a coal-fired power plant in the state; and

**WHEREAS** the state needs coal-fired power plants to ensure the reliability of the electrical energy grid; and

**WHEREAS** the loss of other traditional electrical generation methods may cause natural gas plants to be overused or used in ways that exceed their engineered design; and

**WHEREAS** renewable energy and energy efficiency measures have been implemented at significant cost to the state, but will not be credited to the carbon goal of the state; and

**WHEREAS** the Clean Power Plan will require the premature retirement of the Healy Unit 1 coal plant, underutilization or premature retirement of the Healy Unit 2 coal plant, and significant new investment in renewable energy and energy efficiency; and

**WHEREAS** fostering the development and preservation of reliable, affordable, and environmentally safe electricity for communities, homes, and businesses in the state is an essential state activity; and

**WHEREAS** the state is better able to deal with the issues described in this resolution than the federal government;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature urges the federal government to exempt the state from the Clean Power Plan and empower the state government, which is accountable to the people of the state, to regulate its own energy production and use in order to protect access to affordable and reliable electrical generation for residents of the state.

1

10

**COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable John Boehner, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Orrin Hatch, President pro tempore of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Gina McCarthy, Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; the Honorable Janet McCabe, acting Assistant Administrator for the Office of Air and Radiation, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress; and all other members of the 114th United States Congress.