

Alaska Travel Industry Association January 30, 2013 Resolution 13-2

A RESOLUTION OF THE ALASKA TRAVEL INDUSTRY ASSOCIATION (ATIA) URGING THE ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE TO PASS SENATE BILL 29 OR HOUSE BILL 80.

WHEREAS, ATIA is a nonprofit organization representing over 700 travel-related businesses of Alaska; and

WHEREAS, the cruise industry is a major component of Alaska's travel related economy with approximately 60% or one million of the anticipated 1.6 million out-of-state visitors to Alaska traveling by cruise ship in 2013; and

WHEREAS, the cruise industry visits coastal communities generating jobs and significant economic benefits; and

WHEREAS, many cruise passengers add an extended land tour to their vacations, spreading the economic benefits to many areas of our State; and

WHEREAS, the cruise industry has invested more than \$200 million to install some of the most advanced wastewater treatment systems in the world; and

WHEREAS, a ballot initiative which was characterized as treating the cruise industry similar to all other dischargers actually imposed conditions only applicable to the cruise ships; and

WHEREAS, a state panel of independent experts created by the Legislature concluded that cruise ships have the best technology available and no proven system exists which can meet the initiative standards; and

WHEREAS, Governor Parnell has introduced legislation to allow the Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) to issue permits applying Alaska's tough Water Quality Criteria in a manner similar to all dischargers; and

WHEREAS, the Governor's legislation does not reduce any standards for cruise ships and will still require more advanced treatment than other dischargers in Alaska; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska Travel Industry Association supports Senate Bill 29, and its companion, House Bill 80, which will give ADEC the authority to issue permits based upon the best science and available technology.

Signed this 31 day of January, 2013

Kirk Hoessle Chairman of the Board of Directors Alaska Travel Industry Association

Alaska Travel Industry Association 2600 Cordova Street, Suite 201 Anchorage, Alaska 99503-2745 www.AlaskaTIA.org | www.TravelAlaska.com

2012-2013

Chair

Executive Officers

Kirk Hoessle Alaska Wildland Adventures Vice Chair Julie Saupe Anchorage CVB Government Relations Chair Bill Pedlar Knightly Tours Marketing Chair Bonnie Quill Mat-Su CVB Tourism Planning Chair Deb Hickok

Fairbanks CVB

Secretary Scott Habberstad Alaska Airlines

Treasurer Charlie Ball Holland America/Princess - Alaska Past Chair Ken Dole Waterfall Resort/Promech Air

President & COO Sarah Leonard Alaska Travel Industry Association

Board of Directors

John Binkley Alaska Cruise Association Roark Brown Homer Ocean Charters

Janet Buckingham Kodiak CVB

Brett Carlson Northern Alaska Tour Company

> Paul Goodwin Holland America Line

Peter Grunwaldt Premier Alaska Tours

> Deb Hansen Rust's/K2/Pike's

Al Koch All Alaska Tours

Patti Mackey Ketchikan Visitors Bureau

Dennis McDonnell Renown Tours

Tim McDonnell Temsco Helicopters, Inc.

Scott Reisland Denali Grizzly Bear Resort

Catherine Schultz Sophie Station

Colleen Stephens Stan Stephens Cruises

Ethan Tyler Alaska Tourism Solutions