## CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 16(RES)

### IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

### TWENTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

#### BY THE HOUSE RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Offered: 4/8/13 Referred: Rules

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES SADDLER, Millett, Peggy Wilson, Tuck, Thompson, LeDoux

### **A RESOLUTION**

- 1 Relating to the National Ocean Council, the development of a national ocean policy, and
- 2 coastal and marine spatial planning.

# 3 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- 4 **WHEREAS** Executive Order 13547, signed by President Barack Obama on July 19,
- 5 2010, establishes a National Ocean Council and directs the council to develop a national
- 6 ocean policy; and
- 7 **WHEREAS** Executive Order 13547 circumvents federal congressional authority by
- 8 giving federal agencies broad authority to zone and regulate oceans, coasts, and the Great
- 9 Lakes: and
- WHEREAS the national ocean policy calls for a coastal and marine spatial planning
- process to zone and regulate activities in oceans, coasts, and other water bodies, including
- water owned and managed by the state, and to "build upon and improve existing Federal,
- 13 State, tribal, local, and regional decision making planning processes"; and
- 14 WHEREAS the parameters of the coastal and marine spatial planning process are
- undefined and could potentially apply to inland wetlands and waterways and affect activities
- 16 remote from marine and coastal areas of the state; and

WHEREAS zoning of commercial, recreational, and conservation activities in the
oceans and waterways of the state could significantly affect resource-based activities in the
state, including oil and gas exploration and development; renewable energy; commercial,
recreational, and subsistence fishing and hunting; travel and tourism; transportation and
shipping; boating and recreation; hard rock mining and sand and gravel use; timber harvest;
agriculture; and manufacturing; and

WHEREAS the need for a national ocean policy and coastal and marine spatial planning for the Alaska region has not been empirically demonstrated; and

**WHEREAS** the membership of the National Ocean Council consists solely of representatives of federal agencies and organizations and fails to adequately recognize the interests of states, local governments, Alaska Natives, and other stakeholders; and

**WHEREAS** the regional planning bodies created in the National Ocean Council will not include representatives from industry or other affected stakeholder groups;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature urges the National Ocean Council, in the development and implementation of a National Ocean Policy Final Implementation Plan and the coastal and marine spatial planning process, to consider an Alaska region exemption or to allow voluntary state participation; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that, if the National Ocean Council fails to include an Alaska region exemption or to allow voluntary state participation in the development and implementation of a National Ocean Policy Final Implementation Plan and the coastal and marine spatial planning process, the Alaska State Legislature opposes and declines to recognize, participate in, or enforce the National Ocean Policy Final Implementation Plan and the coastal and marine spatial planning process as it applies to the Alaska and Arctic regions.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States; the Honorable Rebecca Blank, acting United States Secretary of Commerce; Dr. Kathryn Sullivan, acting Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and acting National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Administrator, United States Department of Commerce; Eric Olson, Chair, North Pacific Fishery Management Council, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, United States Department of Commerce; Chris W. Oliver, Executive Director, North Pacific Fishery Management Council, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, United States

- 1 Department of Commerce; each officer of the National Ocean Council; and the Honorable
- 2 Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don
- 3 Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.