28-LS0683\N

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 16

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY REPRESENTATIVES SADDLER, Millett

Introduced: 4/1/13 Referred: Resources

A RESOLUTION

1 **Relating to national ocean policy.**

2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS Executive Order 13547, signed by President Barack Obama on July 19,
2010, establishes a National Ocean Council and directs the council to develop a national
ocean policy; and

6 WHEREAS Executive Order 13547 circumvents federal congressional authority by
7 giving federal agencies broad authority to zone and regulate oceans, coasts, and the Great
8 Lakes; and

9 WHEREAS the national ocean policy calls for a coastal and marine spatial planning
10 process to zone and regulate activities in oceans, coasts, and other water bodies, including
11 water owned and managed by the state, and to "build upon and improve existing Federal,
12 State, tribal, local, and regional decision making planning processes"; and

WHEREAS the parameters of the coastal and marine spatial planning process are undefined and could potentially apply to inland wetlands and waterways and affect activities remote from marine and coastal areas of the state; and

16 WHEREAS zoning of commercial, recreational, and conservation activities in the

1 oceans and waterways of the state could significantly affect resource-based activities in the 2 state, including oil and gas exploration and development; renewable energy; commercial, 3 recreational, and subsistence fishing and hunting; travel and tourism; transportation and 4 shipping; boating and recreation; hard rock mining and sand and gravel use; timber harvest; 5 agriculture; and manufacturing; and

6 WHEREAS the need for coastal and marine spatial planning for the Alaska region is 7 not supported by scientific evidence nor is there demonstrated conflict among users of aquatic 8 and coastal resources in the state or proven scarcity of aquatic and coastal resources; and

9 WHEREAS the membership of the National Ocean Council consists solely of 10 representatives of federal agencies and organizations and fails to adequately recognize the 11 interests of states, local governments, Alaska Natives, and other stakeholders; and

12 WHEREAS the regional planning bodies created in the National Ocean Council will 13 not include representatives from industry or other affected stakeholder groups;

14 BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the National Ocean 15 Council, in the development and implementation of a National Ocean Policy Final 16 Implementation Plan and the coastal and marine spatial planning process, to consider an 17 Alaska region exemption or to allow voluntary state participation; and be it

18

FURTHER RESOLVED that, if the National Ocean Council fails to include an 19 Alaska region exemption or to allow voluntary state participation in the development and 20 implementation of a National Ocean Policy Final Implementation Plan and the coastal and 21 marine spatial planning process, the Alaska State Legislature opposes and declines to 22 recognize, participate in, or enforce the National Ocean Policy Final Implementation Plan and 23 the coastal and marine spatial planning process as it applies to the Alaska and Arctic regions.

24 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of 25 the United States; the Honorable Rebecca Blank, acting United States Secretary of 26 Commerce; Dr. Kathryn Sullivan, acting Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and 27 Atmosphere and acting National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Administrator, 28 United States Department of Commerce; Eric Olson, Chair, North Pacific Fishery 29 Management Council, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, United States 30 Department of Commerce; Chris W. Oliver, Executive Director, North Pacific Fishery 31 Management Council, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, United States

- 1 Department of Commerce; each officer of the National Ocean Council; and the Honorable
- 2 Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don
- 3 Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.