Boards & Commissions Factsheets MEDICAL BOARD

Board: State Medical Board Board identification number: 061

Department: DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE COMMUNITY AND ECONOMIC DEV

Authority: AS 08.64.010

Status: Active

Sunset date: 6/30/2013

Requirements: Legislative Confirmation

Prohibitions: Members cannot serve more than all or part of two consecutive terms.

Term: 4 years

Description: The board consits of 8 members appointed by Governor: 5 licensed physicians residing in as many separate Alaska judicial districts as possible, 1 physician assistant licensed under AS 08.64.107, and 2 persons with no direct financial interest in the health care industry.

Function: The Board is responsible for the licensing, regulation, and discipline of allopathic and osteopathic physicians, podiatrists, physician assistants, and mobile intensive care paramedics in the State of Alaska.

Chair: Board selects.

Special facts: A quorum consists of 5 members who serve at the pleasure of the Governor (AS 08.01.020). The board is staffed with an executive administrator located in Anchorage. Members serve until a successor is appointed. An appointment to fill a vacancy is for the remainder of the unexpired term. A member who has served all or part of two successive terms may not be reappointed unless four years have elapsed since the person has last served.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem.

Meetings: At least 4 times per year, usually quarterly. Location of the meeting varies between as many geographical areas of the state as possible.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact: Ms. Debora Stovern
Executive Administrator, Medical Board
Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1500

Anchorage, AK 99501-3567 Phone: (907) 269-8163, FAX: (907) 269-8196

Medical Board Roster

Go to the Medical Board Home page

We appreciate your interest in Boards and Commissions. For further information contact the Boards and Commissions staff at (907) 465-3500 or at boards@alaska.gov.

State of Alaska © 2012 |

