# Alaska State Legislature

### **Senate Majority Leader**

Judiciary Committee
Chairman
In-State Energy Committee
Co-Chair
State Affairs Committee
Joint Armed Services Committee
Legislative Council
Rules Committee



# Senator John Coghill

Session Address: State Capitol, Room 119 Juneau, AK 99801-1182 (907) 465-3719 Fax (907-465-3258

Interim Address: 310 Santa Claus Lane, Ste 3B North Pole, AK 99705 (907) 451-2963 Fax (907) 451-2332 877-465-3719

www.aksenate.org

#### SECTIONAL Version "P"

### SSSB 47 Relating to Boarding Schools

- \*Sec. 1. This section removes narrow applicability to schools operating before June 1, 2005. Currently three school districts are receiving the stipend: Nenana, Bethel and Galena. The Department of Education is currently soliciting applications for three additional boarding schools statewide.
- **Sec.** 1 also adds magnet schools that have variable-length terms but have a 180-day school year.
- \*Sec. 2. Section 2 increases the monthly stipend rate based on the region of the state the boarding school is located.
- \*Sec. 3. Section 4 allows school districts to contract room and board.
- \*Sec. 4. This section repeals AS 14.17.200(c) which limited DOE to approving three additional boarding school applications.
- Sec. 4 also repeals AS 14.16.200(d)(2), the definition for "district-operated statewide residential program" as Section 1 now included both statewide and district-wide residential schools.
- \*Sec. 5. This Act has an immediate effective date.