

## **Representative Chris Tuck**

## **House Minority Leader**

Alaska State Legislature

District 22 - Representing Dimond Estates, Foxridge, Taku, Campbell, Northwood and Windemere

## CSHB 309 L&C An Act Relating to Distillery Licenses Explanation of Changes

CSHB 309 L&C is a complete rewrite of the original version of HB 309 (version C) based on requests from industry representatives.

The intent of HB 309 is to allow Alaska's local distillers a chance to reach their full potential in the state's tourism industry. This was originally to be done by creating a new license category for "craft distillers" which would allow the license holder to host on-premise tours, tastings, and small direct sales to the public, much the same as local breweries and wineries.

Consensus has been reached among Alaska's distillers and other industry representatives that a better approach would be to mirror the current provisions under Alaska law for breweries and wineries and apply them to currently licensed distilleries.

CSHB 309 L&C no longer creates a special license category for "craft distillers" but instead mirrors as closely as possible changes that were made to Alaska's brewery and winery laws over the years and which have since served the industry and the public well.

Specifically, CSHB 309 L&C attempts to mirror Alaska's brewery and winery laws by allowing small sales to the public for consumption off the premises, but in quantities more appropriate for distilled spirits. It also allows members of the public to sample small portions of the product free of charge, and it allows for the sale of small quantities of the product to be sold for consumption on the premises during limited hours and under strict conditions.

CSHB 309 L&C was also amended twice in the House Labor & Commerce Committee.

The first amendment added a new section to the bill amending section (a) of A.S.04.21.065, titled "Posting of warning signs" by adding distilleries which provide samples to the list of licensees which must post signs informing people that: drinking and smoking during pregnancy can lead to birth defects, a person providing alcohol to someone under 21 can receive up to five years in prison and a fine of \$50,000, and that a person under 21 entering the premises in violation of law could be liable for a fine of \$1,000.

The second amendment changed section (a) of AS 04.21.025 titled "Alcohol server education course" by adding distillers and their agents and employees who sell or serve alcohol to the list of licensees which must complete a board certified alcohol education course.