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February 21, 2014

The Honorable Senator Pete Kelly
Alaska State Legislature

State Capitol Room 516

Juneau AK, 99801

Dear Senator Kelly,

The Board of Certified Direct-entry Midwives convened a special teleconference board meeting on
February 21, 2014 regarding SB 156 and HB 311. The Board is in full support of SB 156 and HB 311. The
Board has supported legislation to move the “Required Practices” Sec. 08.65.1 40(d) from statute to
regulation for many years. The Board could then update and modify them as needed to remain
current with the standard of care as it continues to evolve. To enhonce public safety, the Board further
supports adding the 50 births requirement for Certified Direct-entry Midwives {CDMs) to become
preceptors for apprentices.

The Board also supports repedling the cultural traditions exclusion allowing a person to practice
midwifery for compensation without meeting the educational and practice requirements for licensing.
This measure would also enhance public safety.

The Board supports clarifying the definition of the “practice of midwifery" to include care for infants
through 4 weeks of life. The Board believes it is important for the CDM to follow the baby and provide
consistent care at least through 4 weeks to insure the baby's health, good bonding with the mother and
the family, and a good start to breastieeding. This public safety measure will also improve outcomes for
babies and children in Alaska.

Please feel free 1o contact me if you would like further clarification or have questions regarding this
matter,

Sincerely,

Chenuy L o

Cheryl Corrick, CDM, CPM

Chair of the Board of Cerfified Direct-eniry Midwives



