

HB 308 Summary

Substantive changes:

- Eliminates fee and filing requirements for certain small or limited offering exemptions from registration to:
 - ▶ 10 or fewer investors
 - ▶ 25 or fewer investors
 - Existing security holders
- Increases the division's time to review an "offer to repay" (rescission offer) from 2 to 10 days.
- Clarifies that securities issued by Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA) corporations in compliance with applicable federal law are exempt from registration.

Small offering exemptions – page 2 line 21, page 3 line 20

- Limited numbers of investors
- No public solicitation or advertising
- Requires legends explaining limitations on securities resale
- Information required so investors can make informed decisions (more prescriptive if more investors involved)

Limited offering exemption – page 4 line 19

- Limited to existing security holders
- No commission beyond a standby commission is paid.

Eliminates:

- \$50 filing fee (or \$125 for expedited review)
- Form preparation
- ▶ 136 filings average per year/\$6,800 revenue

Retains:

- Investor protections (anti-fraud provisions)
- Division's oversight and enforcement
- Investor ability to seek rescission or monetary damages

Increases:

Division time to review rescission offers from two to ten days (page 10 line 30)

Exempts ANCSA securities issued in compliance with applicable federal law.

Including 'after-issued' securities issued to:

- ▶ Alaska Natives born after December 18, 1971,
- descendants of Alaska Natives,
- eligible Alaska Natives who missed enrollment, and
- ► Alaska Native shareholders who are 65 years old or older

Alaska Securities Act 45.55.138 states "The *initial* issue of stock of a corporation organized under Alaska law pursuant to 43 U.S.C. 1601 et seq (Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act) is not a sale of a security under AS 45.55.070 and 45.55.990(28)." (emphasis added)

