Mr. Chairman and Committee Members,

Thank you for hearing my testimony on HB 328 "An Act establishing the Board of Massage Therapists; relating to the licensing of massage therapists; and providing for an effective date."

My name is Diane Kyser. I am the proprietor of Artemis Enterprise, a massage therapy practice in Juneau, Alaska. I have been in business for the last twenty years paying my Alaska State Business License fees and Juneau's City Sales tax every year. I am a member Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals and pay yearly Massage Professional Liability Insurance which requires at least five hundred hours of 500 hours of in-class supervised instruction and clinical work from an approved massage school in the United States.

During my years in practice, I have contracted to Pearson's Pond, The University of Alaska, Juneau School District, and donated massage time to Cancer Relay Races. All require a business license and liability insurance for a contractual agreement.

I also work at Arctic Chiropractic in Juneau, Alaska and The Alaska Club as a staff massage therapist. At the Alaska Club, I was asked in 2012 to set up the massage program in the downtown and valley health club. This included design of the massage space, writing the job description, and policy and procedures, training of the front desk staff for booking massage appointments, and interviewing massage therapists which include checking their educational training.

I am for the passage of HB 328 because the education requirement of this act sets the standard of education for massage therapists to practice in the State of Alaska. On page 3, starting in line 22, it reads:

"Sec. 08.61.030. Qualifications for license. (3) furnishes evidence satisfactory to the board that the person has completed a course of study of at least 500 hours of in-class supervised instruction an8 clinical work from an approved massage school;"

When HB 328 is passed, it will allow the Alaska Board Massage Therapists to set the continuing education requirements training needed for massage therapist to be professionally licensed in the State of Alaska. On page 3, line 11, it reads:

"Sec. 08.61.020. Duties and powers of board; (4) establish standards for continuing education for massage therapists;"

The cost of conducting business under a Massage Professional Licensing Board is small. At the rate of \$75.00 per massage, three massages would pay for my yearly licensing fee. As a business owner, my business expenses can be deducted.

I believe that these educational standards required by this act, will provide the consumers of massage therapy in Alaska with massage therapists who have been educated in safe massage therapy modalities. The continuing education requirements that will be established by the board this Act creates will

provide the State of Alaska with massage therapists who practice with updated knowledge that is contributing to the well-being of those who receive massage therapy in Alaska.

I thank you for your time spent and will spend considering HB328. I respectfully request that you pass HB328 out of Committee.

Thank you,

Diane Kyser, Massage Therapist

Proprietor, Artemis Enterprise

P.O. Box 21869

Juneau, AK 99802-1869

907-723-1917