Alaska State Legislature

Senate Majority Leader

Judiciary Committee
Chairman
In-State Energy Committee
Co-Chair
State Affairs Committee
Joint Armed Services Committee
Legislative Council
Rules Committee



Senator John Coghill

Session Address: State Capitol, Room 119 Juneau, AK 99801-1182 (907) 465-3719 Fax (907-465-3258

Interim Address: 1292 Sadler Way, Suite 340 Fairbanks, AK 99701 (907) 451-2997 Fax (907) 451-3526 877-465-3719

www.aksenate.org

Summary of Changes Made to SB 171 in Senate Judiciary Committee Substitute

Page 1, line 5:

Adds to those who can facilitate the initial establishment of a multidisciplinary team "or another investigating agency".

Page 1 line 11, through page 2 line 6:

Renumbered and consolidated to to discuss investigations first and ongoing OCS cases second.

Page 2, Sec. 2:

Added three additional slots on the multidisciplinary team:

- 1. A counselor, social worker, psychologist, or physician who specializes in mental health care, is licensed under AS 08, and has knowledge of child abuse dynamics. This actually replaces an optional position in the original bill that was worded "mental and physical health practitioners licensed under AS 08;
- 2. A prosecutor of child abuse cases or a designee of a prosecutor of child abuse cases; Replaces consensus member from district attorney's office in original version.
- 3. A victim advocate with knowledge of child abuse dynamics;

Expands credentials of two consensus members and adds an addition consensus members of the team:

- 1. The representative from the AG's office must specialize in child protection.
- 2. The ICWA representative is designated by the tribe or tribes involved with the parents and child(ren).
- 3. Adds a representative from juvenile justice.