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DRIVER'S LICENSE INFORMATION

For Active Duty Members:
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This is my Home State. [|This Is My Home State. How Long Is || This Is The State Where I Am 'Where Can I Get More
Will It Extend My My Driver’s License Valid And How |{Stationed. [s My Home State Driver’s || Information?
Driver’s License Past Its |[May I Extend Or Renew It? License Valid Here?
Expiration Date If I Am
Stationed Out Of State?
Alabama No Member and family members may Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Division
renew by mail honored; same rule applies to family
members
(334) 242-4433
Alaska No Member and family members may  ||No;-current license only honored for [[Motor Vehicle Division
renew by mail 90 days; member and family members
must obtain state license
Yes, valid home state license (907) 465_4363
honored for active duty military
until 90 davs after discharge.
Arizona Yes Extended to six months after Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Division
discharge; members and family honored; family members must obtain
members may renew by mail state license if employed or have
children enrolled in school (602) 255-8071
Driver’s
License Office
(602) 255-8121
Arkansas No Extended on application (by mail, if [{Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Division
necessary), not to exceed six years, if [|honored; family members must obtain
member is in first tour of duty; state license
member and family members may (501) 682-3333
renew by mail
California Yes Extended to 30 days after discharge; || Yes, valid home state license Department of Motor
member and family members may honored; same rule applies to family || Vehicles
renew by mail members
(916) 657-7669
Colorado Yes Extended to 3 years after expiration || Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Division
date or 90 days after return to state, |{honored; same rule applies to family
'whichever comes first; may renew by [|[members
mail; same rule applies to family (3 03) 623 -9463
members
Connecticut No Member and family members may Yes, valid home state license Department of Motor
renew by mail; free license issued honored; same rule applies to family ||Vehicles

during active duty service

members

(203) 566-4710
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Delaware No Member and family members may || Yes, valid home state license Division of Motor
renew by mail honored; same rule applies to family [|Vehicles
members
(302) 739-2500
District of Columbia No Extended, on application (by mail, if |[Yes, valid home state license Bureau of Motor Vehicle
necessary) to six years after honored; same rule applies to family [|Services
expiration date; must apply for members
extension every four years; members
and family members may renew by (202) 727-6680
mail, one time only
Florida No License not valid for operation after || Yes, valid home state license Division of Motor
expired; but, member may renew (by ||honored; same rule applies to family || Vehicles
mail, if necessary) without penalty members
through 90 days after discharge or
return to state, whichever comes first; (904) 488-3405
similar provision for family members
Georgial No Members may request a deferral of  [|Yes, valid home state license Department of Public
|lexpiration if stationed outside the honored; same rule applies to family ||Safety
state for less than four years; may members
renew by mail; same rules apply to
family members (404) 657-9300
Hawaii No May renew by mail (license issued  [|Yes, valid home state license honored || Division of Motor
prior to Jan 1, 1968 is valid until 30 Vehicles and Licensing
days after discharge or return to state,
whichever comes first)
(808) 532-7730
Idaho No Members are allowed a four year Yes, valid home state license Transportation
extension; may renew by mail; same [(honored; same rule applies to family [|[Department, Motor
rules apply to family members members Vehicles
(208) 334-8663
Tllinois Yes Members serving in the U.S. may Yes, valid home state license Department of Vehicle
request an extension to 45 days after ||honored; same rule applies to family [{Services
discharge; for members serving members
overseas, license is extended to 45
days following return to U.S.;
member and family members may _ _
renew by mail 217-782-2720
Indiana No May renew by mail; same rule applies || Yes, valid home state license Bureau of Motor
to family members honored; same rule applies to family [|Vehicles
'members
(317) 232-2861
Towa Yes Extended to six months after Yes, valid home state license Office of Vehicle
discharge; only member may renew  |{honored; same rule applies to family [|Services
by mail; family member’s license members
ended to-five years past expiration |
(515) 237-3110
Kansas No Member and family members may Yes, valid home state license honored [|Division of Vehicles

renew by mail

provided home state registration is
also maintained; same rule applies to
family members

(913) 296-3963
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Kentucky No Member and family members may Yes, valid home state license Department of Motor
renew by mail honored; same rule applies to family ||Vehicle Licensing
members
(502) 564-6800
Louisiana Yes Extended to 60 days after discharge; ||Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Division
may renew by mail; no extension or [fhonored; family members must obtain
renewal by mail for family members [|state license
(504) 922-2821
Maine| Yes Member may apply (by mail, if Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Division
necessary) to extend to 30 days after [fhonored; same rule applies to family
discharge; upon request, member may [|[members
be licensed without payment of fee; (207) 287-3856
member and family members may
renew by mail
Maryland Yes Extended to 30 days after discharge [|Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle
or reassignment to state, whichever  |lhonored, if home state registration is ||Administration
comes first; may renew by mail; same [|maintained; same rule applies to
rules apply to family members family members
(410) 768-7000
M husett Yes (Member may apply to extend to 60  [{Yes, valid home state license Registry of Motor
days after discharge; no extension for [[honored; same rule applies to family [|Vehicles
family members; may not renew by  [|[members
mail
(617) 351-4500
Michigan| Yes Extended to 30 days after first Yes, valid home state license honored || Division of Driver and
military leave of absence or Vehicle Records
discharge; member or family
members may renew by mail
(517) 322-1166
Minnesota Yes Extended to 90 days after discharge, [{Yes, valid home state license Driver and Vehicle
if state is notified prior to expiration; |[honored; same rule applies to family [|Services Division
members and family members may  [[members
renew by mail
(612) 296-6911
Mississippi Yes Extended to 90 days after discharge; || Yes, valid home state license State Tax Commission
members and family members may  |[honored; same rule applies to family
renew by mail members
(601) 987-1212
Missouri No May renew by mail; same rule applies || Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Bureau
to adult members honored; same rule applies to family
members
(314) 751-4450
Montana| Yes Extended to 30 days after discharge; |{No, license must be secured within 90 |[Motor Vehicle Division
member and family members may days; same rule applies to family
renew by mail members
(406) 444-3292
Nebraska| Yes Extended to 60 days after discharge; || Yes, valid home state license Department of Motor
may renew by mail; same rules apply ||honored; same rule applies to family [|Vehicles

to spouse

members

(402) 471-2281
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Nevada No Member and family members may Yes, valid home state license honored [|Department of Motor
renew by mail provided home state registration is Vehicles
also maintained; same rule applies to
family members
(702) 687-5373
New Hampshire No Members and family members may [{Yes, valid home state license Division of Motor
renew by mail ; honored; same rule applies to family [|Vehicles
members
(603) 271-2251
New Jersey No Members and family members may || Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Services
renew by mail honored; same rule applies to family
members
(609) 292-6500
New Mexico| No Members and family members may || Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Division
renew by mail honored; family members must obtain
state license
(505) 827-2294
New York Yes Extended to six months after Yes, valid home state license Department of Motor
discharge; however, member must honored; same rule applies to family [|Vehicles
notify NY Commissioner of Motor  [|[members
Vehicles within 60 days of entry into
service; members and family (5 1 8) 473-5595
members may renew by mail
North Carolina No May renew by mail with endorsement || Yes, valid home state license Division of Motor
from Commanding Officer; family  |lhonored; same rule applies to family |[[Vehicles
members may renew by mail members
(919) 733-5110
North Dakota, Yes Extended to 30 days after discharge ||Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Division
or return to state, whichever comes  ||honored; same rule applies to family
first; member may renew by mail members
(701) 328-2725
Ohio No Member and family members may Yes, valid home state license Bureau of Motor
renew by mail honored; family members must obtain || Vehicles
state license
(614) 752-7500
Oklahoma No Members and family members may  [|Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Division
renew by mail; for members serving [(honored; vehicle must be registered in
overseas, is extended automatically to ||state or home state; same rule applies
60 days after returning to the U.S.  ||to family members (405) 425-2424
Oregon No Member and family members may Yes, valid home state license Driver and Motor
renew by mail honored; same rule applies to family [[Vehicle Services
members
(503) 945-5000
Pennsylvanial Yes Extended to 45 days after discharge || Yes, valid home state license Bureau of Motor
or return to state, whichever occurs  |fhonored; same rule applies to family [|Vehicles
first; may renew by mail; same rules [|members
applies to family members

(717) 787-3130
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Rhode Island| Yes Members may apply (by mail, if Yes, valid home state license honored ||Department of Motor
necessary) for a special license that is [|if home state registration is 'Vehicles
good to 30 days after discharge; maintained; same rule applies to
members and family members may  [[family members
renew by mail (401) 277-2970
South Carolina No Member and family members may || Yes, valid home state license Division of Motor
renew by mail honored; same rule applies to family [{Vehicles
members
(803) 251-2940
South Dakotal Yes Extended to 30 days after discharge; [|Yes, valid home state license Division of Motor
member and family members may honored; same rule applies to family [|Vehicles
renew by mail members
(605) 773-3541
Tennessee Yes Extended to 60 days after discharge || Yes, valid home state license honored |[Motor Vehicle Division
or return to state, whichever comes  [|if home state registration is also
first, (if desired, members may apply |[maintained; same rule applies to
for a special license which shows the [|family members (6 1 5) 251-5254
extension); members and family
members may renew by mail
Texas Yes Extended to 90 days after discharge || Yes, valid home state license Department of Public
or return to state, whichever comes  |thonored; same rule applies to family [|Safety
first; members and family members [lmembers
may renew by mail
(512) 465-2000
Utah Yes Extended to 90 days after discharge; ||Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Customer
may renew by mail; same rules apply [thonored; family members must obtain || Service Division
to family members state license if employed in the state
(801) 965-4437
Vermont Yes Extended to four years after date of  ||Yes, valid home state license Department of Motor
expiration; members and family honored; same rule applies to family [{Vehicles
members may renew by mail members
(802) 828-2000
Virginia| Yes Extended to six months after Yes, valid home state license Department of Motor
discharge, but not to exceed five years||lhonored; family members must obtain [|Vehicles
from the date of expiration; member [[state license if employed in the state
and family member may renew by
mail (804) 367-6614
Washington| Yes Member may apply (by mail, if Yes, valid home state license Department of Licensing
necessary) to extend to 90 days after [[honored; vehicle must be registered in
discharge; family members may not ||state or home state; same rule applies
renew by mail, but can request a 90  [|to family members 3 60)9()2-40 50
day extension allowing time to renew
in person
West Virginia Yes Extended to six months after Yes, valid home state license honored || Department of Motor
discharge; member and family if home state registration is also Vehicles
members may renew by mail maintained

(304) 558-3900
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Wisconsin| No Member and family members may Yes, valid home state license Department of Motor
renew by mail honored; same rule applies to family [|Vehicles
members
(608) 266-2325
Wyoming No Members may apply (by mail, if Yes, valid home state license Motor Vehicle Licensing
necessary) to extend license for four [lhonored; same rule applies to family [land Titling
years after the expiration date, one members
time only; may renew by mail; same
rule applies for family members (3 07) 777-4834
For Dependents:
State Spouse/Dependents Rule
specifically
addressed?
Alabama No Code of Ala. @ 32-6-2 (1997)
The following persons when driving a motor vehicle under the following conditions are exempt from a
license hereunder:
3) A nonresident who is at least 16 years of age and who has in his immediate possession a valid driver's
license issued in his home state or country . . .
Alaska Yes Alaska Statutes (AS) 28.15.021(2):
The following persons are exempt from driver licensing under this chapter:...
(2) a nonresident who is at least 16 years of age and who has a valid driver's license issued by another
jurisdiction; however, an Alaska driver's license must be obtained by the end of a 90-day period after entry
into the state..."
Members of the armed forces are exempt if their "permanent residence” is in another jurisdiction and their
license is from that other jurisdiction, but their dependents fall under the above rule (i.. they have to get one
within 90 days).
Arizona No ARS. @ 28-3152 (1997)
A. ... [T]he following persons are exempt from licensing under this chapter:
3. A person who is a nonresident, who is at least sixteen years of age and who has in the person's immediate
possession a valid driver license issued to the person in the person's home state or country while the person is
operating a motor vehicle requiring a class D license.
Arkansas No Ark. Stat. Ann. @ 27-16-603 (1997)
The following persons are exempt from licensing under this act:
(3) A nonresident who is at least sixteen (16) years of age and who has in his immediate possession a valid
noncommercial driver's license issued to him in his home state or country may operate a motor vehicle in this
state only as a noncommercial driver;
California Yes Driver License




