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You wished to know the monetary value of stolen property at which theft becomes a felony 
offense.   

For the purposes of this report, we look at non-aggravated theft only.  Table 1 shows the value threshold at which laws in each 
state currently classify theft as a felony offense, in descending order of value.  Table 2, on the following page, provides the 
same information listed by state.  As you will see, the majority of states classify theft as a felony offense when the value of the 
property stolen exceeds $500, with $1,000 being the most frequently established threshold value. 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Indiana* IC 35-43-4-2 class D felony Ohio R.C. § 2913.02 1,000$           

Wisconsin W.S.A. 943.20 2,500$             Oregon O.R.S. § 164.055 1,000$           

Colorado CRSA 18-4-401 2,000$             South Dakota SDCL § 22-30A-17 1,000$           

Connecticut CT ST 53a-124 2,000$             West Virginia W. Va. Code, § 61-3-13 1,000$           

Pennsylvania 18 Pa.C.S.A. § 3903 2,000$             Wyoming W.S.1977 § 6-3-402 1,000$           

South Carolina Code 1976 § 16-13-30 2,000$             California Cal Penal Code 487 950$               

Delaware 11 Del C 841 1,500$             Vermont 13 V.S.A. § 2502 900$               

Georgia GCA 16-8-12 1,500$             Washington West's RCWA 9A.56.040 750$               

Montana MCA 45-6-301 1,500$             Nevada N.R.S. 205.0835 650$               

Rhode Island Gen.Laws 1956, § 11-41-5 1,500$             Alabama Ala Code 13A-8-4 500$               

Texas V.T.C.A., Penal Code § 31.03 1,500$             Alaska AS § 11.46.130 500$               

Utah U.C.A. 1953 § 76-6-412 1,500$             Il l inois 720 ILCS 5/16-1 500$               

Arizona ARS 13-1802 1,000$             Kentucky KRS 514.030 500$               

Arkansas ACA 5-36-103 1,000$             Louisiana* LSA-RS 14:67 500$               

Idaho IC 18-2407 1,000$             Mississippi Miss Code Ann 97-17-41 500$               

Iowa ICA 714.2 1,000$             Missouri VAMS 570.030 500$               

Kansas KSA 21-5801 1,000$             Nebraska Neb.Rev.St. § 28-518 500$               

Maine 17 AMRSA 353 1,000$             New Jersey N.J.S.A. 2C:20-2 500$               

Maryland ACM 7-104 1,000$             New Mexico N. M. S. A. 1978, § 30-16-1 500$               

Michigan MCLA 750-356 1,000$             Oklahoma 21 Okl.St.Ann. § 1704 500$               

Minnesota MSA 609.52 1,000$             Tennessee T. C. A. § 39-14-105 500$               

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. § 637:11 1,000$             Florida FSA 812.014 300$               

New York McKinney's Penal Law § 155.30 1,000$             Hawaii HRS 708-832 300$               

North Carolina N.C.G.S.A. § 14-72 1,000$             Massachusetts MGLA 266-30 250$               

North Dakota NDCC, 12.1-23-05 1,000$             Virginia VA Code Ann. § 18.2-95 200$               

Table 1:  Value Threshold for Felony Theft, by Value

Notes:  Al l  theft in Indiana is  class i fied as  a  felony.  Louis iana law does  not class i fy crimes  into misdemeanor and felony; however, 

crimes  punishable by imprisonment of one year or more are typica l ly cons idered serious  offenses , or felonies .

Source:  Westlaw
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We hope this is helpful.  If you have questions or need additional information, please let us know.   

Alabama Ala Code 13A-8-4 500$              Montana MCA 45-6-301 1,500$        

Alaska AS § 11.46.130 500$              Nebraska Neb.Rev.St. § 28-518 500$           

Arizona ARS 13-1802 1,000$           Nevada N.R.S. 205.0835 650$           

Arkansas ACA 5-36-103 1,000$           New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. § 637:11 1,000$        

California Cal Penal Code 487 950$              New Jersey N.J.S.A. 2C:20-2 500$           

Colorado CRSA 18-4-401 2,000$           New Mexico N. M. S. A. 1978, § 30-16-1 500$           

Connecticut CT ST 53a-124 2,000$           New York McKinney's Penal Law § 155.30 1,000$        

Delaware 11 Del C 841 1,500$           North Carolina N.C.G.S.A. § 14-72 1,000$        

Florida FSA 812.014 300$              North Dakota NDCC, 12.1-23-05 1,000$        

Georgia GCA 16-8-12 1,500$           Ohio R.C. § 2913.02 1,000$        

Hawaii HRS 708-832 300$              Oklahoma 21 Okl.St.Ann. § 1704 500$           

Idaho IC 18-2407 1,000$           Oregon O.R.S. § 164.055 1,000$        

Il l inois 720 ILCS 5/16-1 500$              Pennsylvania 18 Pa.C.S.A. § 3903 2,000$        

Indiana IC 35-43-4-2 class  D felony Rhode Island Gen.Laws 1956, § 11-41-5 1,500$        

Iowa ICA 714.2 1,000$           South Carolina Code 1976 § 16-13-30 2,000$        

Kansas KSA 21-5801 1,000$           South Dakota SDCL § 22-30A-17 1,000$        

Kentucky KRS 514.030 500$              Tennessee T. C. A. § 39-14-105 500$           

Louisiana* LSA-RS 14:67 500$              Texas V.T.C.A., Penal Code § 31.03 1,500$        

Maine 17 AMRSA 353 1,000$           Utah U.C.A. 1953 § 76-6-412 1,500$        

Maryland ACM 7-104 1,000$           Vermont 13 V.S.A. § 2502 900$           

Massachusetts MGLA 266-30 250$              Virginia VA Code Ann. § 18.2-95 200$           

Michigan MCLA 750-356 1,000$           Washington West's RCWA 9A.56.040 750$           

Minnesota MSA 609.52 1,000$           West Virginia W. Va. Code, § 61-3-13 1,000$        

Mississippi Miss Code Ann 97-17-41 500$              Wisconsin W.S.A. 943.20 2,500$        

Missouri VAMS 570.030 500$              Wyoming W.S.1977 § 6-3-402 1,000$        

Notes:  Al l  theft in Indiana is  class i fied as  a  felony.  Louis iana law does  not class i fy crimes  into misdemeanor and felony; 

however, crimes  punishable by imprisonment of one year or more are typica l ly cons idered serious  offenses , or felonies .

Source:  Westlaw

Table 2:  Value Threshold for Felony Theft, by State


