## ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE

SESSION ADDRESS: Alaska State Capitol, Rm. 125 Juneau, Alaska 99801-1182 Phone: (907) 465-2828 Fax: (907) 465-4779

Toll Free: (800) 964-5733



INTERIM ADDRESSES: 145 Main St. Loop #226 Kenai, AK 99611 Phone: (907) 283-7996

270 W. Pioneer Ave. Homer, AK 99603 Phone: (907) 235-0690

## SENATOR PETER A. MICCICHE

## **Sponsor Statement**

DISTRICT O

**Anchor Point** 

Clam Gulch

Cohoe

Diamond Ridge

Fox River

Fritz Creek

Funny River

Halibut Cove

Happy Valley

Homer

Kachemak City

Kachemak Selo

Kalifornsky

Kasilof

Kenai

Nikolaevsk

Ninilchik

Razdolna

Ridgeway

Seldovia

Soldotna

Voznesenka

SB 206 "An Act relating to motor vehicle registration and fees; relating to licensing of school bus drivers; relating to notice of an accident involving a motor vehicle; and providing for an effective date."

SB 206 is legislation that helps deliver the sponsor's vision to provide more efficient and convenient Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) services for Alaskans. The bill is designed to lead toward a service environment where Alaskans will likely view and manage all of their accounts, transfers, driver's license and registration renewals in one location through their MyAlaska or similar online account.

Although the DMV is currently making use of internet technology, minor statutory changes will allow a substantive increase in efficiency for Alaskan customers and cost reductions for the Division. Alaska statutes also require a \$10 service fee for inperson vehicle renewals and DMV's practice has been to extend the \$10 fee waiver for online renewals. This bill places the \$10 fee waiver into statute.

Enactment of SB 206 will also allow the DMV to receive accident reports from law enforcement agencies and drivers across the state electronically, reducing staff time and the wasting of paper that has to be processed by multiple agencies. The change will also provide the Department of Public Safety and other state agencies immediate access to accident reports.

Additionally, SB 206 will modify statutes governing the licensing process for school bus drivers and will protect children across the state from those with inappropriate criminal records. SB 206 adds reasonable limitations to the licensing requirements to ensure the safety of Alaska's youth.

I hope you will join me in supporting this legislation as an effort to improve DMV efficiency, provide for electronic accident reporting by law enforcement agencies and protect children from those with criminal records while being transported to and from school.