Alaska State Legislature Senate Rules Committee

Session: State Capitol 103 Juneau, AK 99801 Phone: (907) 465-2995 Fax: (907) 465-6592

Rules Committee: Senator McGuire, Chair Senator Coghill Senator Huggins Senator Meyer Senator Ellis



Senator Lesil McGuire, Chairman

Interim: 716 W 4th Avenue, Suite 300 Anchorage, AK 99501-2133 Phone: (907) 269-0250 Fax: (907) 269-0249

Committee on Committees
Rules Committee
Resources Committee
Judiciary Committee
Legislative Council
TAPS Troughput Decline
World Trade and Tourism

SPONSOR STATEMENT

SCR 17

A resolution commemorating the 150th anniversary of the purchase of Alaska for \$7,200,000; urging Alaska communities to plan activities and events in 2017 to commemorate the Alaska Purchase; requesting that the Alaska Historical Commission coordinate events; and inviting Alaska communities, schools, universities, libraries, museums, businesses, civic and historical groups, and government agencies to participate in and support commemorative activities and events.

As Alaskans we all share a unique and special pride for our great state – from our rich Alaska Native heritage, to our unparalleled natural resources, our majestic landscapes, to our diverse communities full of some of the most caring and resilient people in the country. This resolution gives us the opportunity to reflect on the history of Alaska under the American flag and share with the rest of the nation what makes our state so strong.

The United States purchased Alaska from Russia in 1867 for \$7.2 million, or about two cents an acre. The 150th anniversary of the purchase is an ideal opportunity for all Alaskans to celebrate our state's remarkable history.

SCR 17 recognizes the historic significance of the anniversary of the purchase of Alaska and encourages all Alaskan communities to participate in celebrations statewide. The resolution asks the Alaska Historical Commission (AHC) to seek opportunities to engage support and coordinate events through our communities, schools, universities, libraries, museums, businesses, civic and historical groups, and government agencies.