

April 3, 2013

Representative Mia Costello State Capitol, Room 501 Juneau, AK 99801-1182

Dear Honorable Representative Mia Costello:

As president of NEA-Alaska, representing nearly 13,000 educators and education support professionals throughout Alaska, I am writing to inform you of our enthusiastic support of House Bill 45.

There is absolutely no place in Alaska's public schools for bullying or harassment of any kind. NEA-Alaska is pleased that your legislation enjoys support from a large number of legislators from both sides of the political aisle.

We remain hopeful that this legislation, with sponsorship from more than a third of house members, can still move through the process during this legislative session. HB 45 is the type of legislation that should be acted upon expeditiously.

Thank you for your efforts on this important legislation.

Sincerely,

Ron Fuhrer NEA-Alaska President

JUNEAU OFFICE • 201 Main Street, Suite 300 • Juneau, Alaska 99801 • (907) 586-3090 • FAX: (907) 586-2744 ANCHORAGE REGIONAL OFFICE • 4100 Spenard Road • Anchorage, Alaska 99517 • (907) 274-0536 • FAX: (907) 274-0551



February 12, 2013

The Honorable Mia Costello Alaska State House of Representatives State Capitol Rm 501 Mail Stop: 3100 Juneau AK 99801-1182

Dear Representative Costello:

On behalf of the Alaska Peace Officers Association (APOA), I would like to thank you for introducing House Bill 45, <u>"An act relating to harassment, intimidation, or bullying by students attending a public school in state".</u>

The APOA Board of Directors recently reviewed this proposed legislation and unanimously supports this bill in its current form. We applaud your efforts to keep children safe in our public schools through anti-bullying legislation.

Please contact the APOA office in Anchorage at 277-0515, if there is anything our organization can do to assist in the passage of this bill.

Sincerely

John Lucking, Jr. State President

CC:

Representative Gattis Representative Hughes Representative Josephson

Business Manager

Kalie Bell Anchorage

Board of Directors Officers

John Lucking, Jr., President Soldotna

Kris Sell, Vice President Juneau

Angella Long, Past President Wasilla

Marilyn Bailey, Secretary-Treasurer Anchorage

Directors John Waldron, President Aleutian Islands Chapter Unalaska

Michele Logan, President Anchorage Chapter Anchorage

Steve Hall, President Capital City Chapter Juneau

Brad Johnson, President Farthest North Chapter Fairbanks

Mark Pearson, President Kenai Peninsula Chapter Kenai

Kevin Brew, President Mat-Su Chapter Wasilla

Thecla LaLonde, President Wrangell Chapter Wrangell

PO Box 240106 Anchorage AK 99524

t 907 277 0515 f 907 272 5355

