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State of Alaska: Premium, Standard, Economy Health Plan Coverage Period: 01/01/2014–12/31/2014
Summary of Benefits and Coverage: What this Plan Covers & What it Costs Coverage for Employee + Family |Plan Type: PPO

Questions: Call 1-855-784-8646 or visit us at www.AlaskaCare.gov.
If you aren’t clear about any of the underlined terms used in this form, see the Glossary.  You can view the Glossary
at www.cciio.cms.gov/resources/other or call 1-855-784-8646 to request a copy

Copayments are fixed dollar amounts (for example, $15) you pay for covered health care, usually when you receive the service.
Coinsurance is your share of the costs of a covered service, calculated as a percent of the allowed amount for the service. For example, if 
the plan’s allowed amount for an overnight hospital stay is $1,000, your coinsurance payment of 20% would be $200.  This may change if 
you haven’t met your deductible.
The amount the plan pays for covered services is based on the allowed amount. If any provider charges more than the allowed amount, 
you may have to pay the difference. For example, if an out-of-network hospital charges $1,500 for an overnight stay and the allowed amount
is $1,000, you may have to pay the $500 difference. (This is called balance billing.)
This plan may encourage you to use in-network providers by charging you lower deductibles, copayments and coinsurance amounts.

Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

If you visit a health 
care provider’s office 
or clinic

Primary care visit to treat an injury or illness

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––

Specialist visit

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Pre-certification is 
required for use of 
out-of-network 
providers.  Failure 
to obtain pre-
certification will 
result in a $400 
penalty being 
assessed before 
benefits are paid.

–––––––––––none–––––––––––
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Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

Other practitioner office visit

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

20% coinsurance 
for audio benefits
for all plans.

Same as in-
network provider.

Coverage for chiropractic services is 
limited to 20 visits per benefit year.  

Preventive care/screening/immunization No charge

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 
30% (for 
economy) 
coinsurance

Preventive care, screening and 
immunizations not specifically 
identified as preventive services in the 
plan document are subject to 10% (for 
premium), 20% (for standard), 30% 
(for economy) coinsurance. Preventive 
services are limited to once per year.

If you have a test Diagnostic test (x-ray, blood work)

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––
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Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

Imaging (CT/PET scans, MRIs) 

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Pre-certification is 
required for some 
imaging services 
when using of out-
of-network 
providers.  Failure 
to obtain pre-
certification when 
required will result 
in a $400 penalty 
being assessed 
before benefits are 
paid.

See your plan 
document for 
additional 
information about 
pre-certification. 
Call 1-855-784-
8646 for pre-
certification.

–––––––––––none–––––––––––



    6 of 22

State of Alaska: Premium, Standard, Economy Health Plan Coverage Period: 01/01/2014–12/31/2014
Summary of Benefits and Coverage: What this Plan Covers & What it Costs Coverage for Employee + Family |Plan Type: PPO

Questions: Call 1-855-784-8646 or visit us at www.AlaskaCare.gov.
If you aren’t clear about any of the underlined terms used in this form, see the Glossary.  You can view the Glossary
at www.cciio.cms.gov/resources/other or call 1-855-784-8646 to request a copy

Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

If you need drugs to 
treat your illness or 
condition

More information 
about prescription 
drug coverage is
available at 
www.AlaskaCare.gov
or by calling 1-855-
784-8646.

Generic & Brand Drugs

20% coinsurance
(retail), subject to 
minimum and 
maximum limits.  

Retail minimum:
$13 copay for up to 
30-day supply; $21 
copay for 31-90-
day supply.

Retail maximum:
$61 copay for up to 
30-day supply; $122
copay for 31-90-
day supply.

Mail order:
$8 copayment 
(generic).

$20 copayment 
(brand).

40% coinsurance
(retail and mail 
order).

Covers up to a 30-day supply (retail 
prescription); 31-90 day supply (retail 
and mail order prescription).

$1,000 person/$2,000 person
annual copay maximum applies to 
following prescriptions: up to a 30-day 
supply (retail prescription); 31-90 day 
supply (retail and mail order 
prescriptions).
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Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

Specialty drugs

20% coinsurance 
(retail), subject to 
minimum and 
maximum limits.  

Retail minimum:
$13 copay for up to 
30-day supply; $21 
copay for 31-90-
day supply.

Retail maximum:
$61 copay for up to 
30-day supply; $122 
copay for 31-90-
day supply.

Mail order:
$20 copayment.

40% coinsurance 
(retail and mail 
order).

Pre-certification is 
required for some 
specialty drugs 
when using of out-
of-network 
providers.  Failure 
to obtain pre-
certification when 
required will result 
in a $400 penalty 
being assessed 
before benefits are 
paid.

See your plan 
document for 
additional 
information about 
pre-certification. 
Call 1-855-784-
8646 for pre-
certification.

Covers up to a 30-day supply (retail 
prescription); 31-90 day supply (retail 
and mail order prescription).

$1,000 person / $2,000 person
annual copay maximum applies to 
following prescriptions: up to a 30-day 
supply (retail prescription); 31-90 day 
supply (retail and mail order 
prescriptions).
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Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

If you have 
outpatient surgery

Facility fee (e.g., ambulatory surgery center)

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Pre-certification is 
required for use of 
out-of-network 
providers.  Failure 
to obtain pre-
certification will 
result in a $400 
penalty being 
assessed before 
benefits are paid.

–––––––––––none–––––––––––

Physician/surgeon fees

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––

If you need 
immediate medical 
attention

Emergency room services

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider.

A $100 penalty will be assessed for 
non-emergency services received in an 
emergency room.

Emergency medical transportation

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––

Urgent care

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––
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Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

If you have a 
hospital stay

Facility fee (e.g., hospital room)

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Pre-certification is 
required for use of 
out-of-network 
providers.  Failure 
to obtain pre-
certification will 
result in a $400 
penalty being 
assessed before 
benefits are paid.

Use of designated preferred hospital is 
required for non-emergency care in
Anchorage and outside Alaska. Failure 
to use preferred hospital will result in a 
20% reduction in benefits and the out-
of-pocket limit will be doubled.

Physician/surgeon fee

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––
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Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

If you have mental 
health, behavioral 
health, or substance 
abuse needs

Mental/Behavioral health outpatient services

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––

Mental/Behavioral health inpatient services

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Pre-certification is 
required for use of 
out-of-network 
providers.  Failure 
to obtain pre-
certification will 
result in a $400 
penalty being 
assessed before 
benefits are paid.

Use of a out-of-
network provider 
will result in 20% 
reduction in 
benefits.

–––––––––––none–––––––––––

Substance use disorder outpatient services

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––
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Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

Substance use disorder inpatient services

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Pre-certification is 
required for use of 
out-of-network 
providers.  Failure 
to obtain pre-
certification will 
result in a $400 
penalty being 
assessed before 
benefits are paid.

Use of an out-of-
network provider 
will result in 20% 
reduction in 
benefits.

–––––––––––none–––––––––––

If you are pregnant Prenatal and postnatal care

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––
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Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

Delivery and all inpatient services

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Pre-certification is 
required for use of 
out-of-network 
providers.  Failure 
to obtain pre-
certification will 
result in a $400 
penalty being 
assessed before 
benefits are paid.

Use of designated preferred hospital is 
required for non-emergency care in
Anchorage and outside Alaska. Failure 
to use preferred hospital will result in a 
20% reduction in benefits and the out-
of-pocket limit will be doubled.
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Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

If you need help 
recovering or have 
other special health 
needs

Home health care

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Pre-certification is 
required for use of 
out-of-network 
providers.  Failure 
to obtain pre-
certification will 
result in a $400 
penalty being 
assessed before 
benefits are paid.

Coverage is limited to 120 visits per 
plan year. 

Rehabilitation services

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30%
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––

Habilitation services Not covered Not covered Not covered

Skilled nursing care

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Pre-certification is 
required for use of 
out-of-network 
providers.  Failure 
to obtain pre-
certification will 
result in a $400 
penalty being 
assessed before 
benefits are paid.

–––––––––––none–––––––––––
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Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

Durable medical equipment

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––

Hospice service

10% (for 
premium), 20% 
(for standard), 30% 
(for economy) 
coinsurance

Same as in-
network provider. –––––––––––none–––––––––––
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Common 
Medical Event Services You May Need

Your Cost If 
You Use an
In-Network

Provider

Your Cost If 
You Use an

Out-of-Network
Provider

Limitations & Exceptions

If your child needs 
dental or eye care

Eye exam Not covered Not Covered Not covered
Glasses Not covered Not Covered Not covered

Dental check-up

0% for preventive 
services (for 
preventive and 
standard plans), 
90% for basic 
services (for 
preventive plan), 
20% for basic 
services (for 
standard plan), 
90% for major 
services (for 
preventive plan), 
50% for major 
services (for 
standard plan), 
50% for 
orthodontic 
services (for 
standard plan)
coinsurance.

Same as in-
network provider.

$1,000 individual lifetime maximum 
for orthodontics


