

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

P.O. Box 110806 Juneou, Alaska 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Text attorie: 907.465.5437

Programs fax: 907.465.2974

February 21, 2014

The Honorable Senator Pete Kelly Alaska State Legislature State Capitol Room 516 Juneau AK, 99801

Dear Senator Kelly,

The Board of Certified Direct-entry Midwives convened a special teleconference board meeting on February 21, 2014 regarding SB 156 and HB 311. The Board is in full support of SB 156 and HB 311. The Board has supported legislation to move the "Required Practices" Sec. 08.65.140(d) from statute to regulation for many years. The Board could then update and modify them as needed to remain current with the standard of care as it continues to evolve. To enhance public safety, the Board further supports adding the 50 births requirement for Certified Direct-entry Midwives (CDMs) to become preceptors for apprentices.

The Board also supports repealing the cultural traditions exclusion allowing a person to practice midwifery for compensation without meeting the educational and practice requirements for licensing. This measure would also enhance public safety.

The Board supports clarifying the definition of the "practice of midwifery" to include care for infants through 4 weeks of life. The Board believes it is important for the CDM to follow the baby and provide consistent care at least through 4 weeks to insure the baby's health, good bonding with the mother and the family, and a good start to breastfeeding. This public safety measure will also improve outcomes for babies and children in Alaska.

Please feel free to contact me if you would like further clarification or have questions regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Cheryl Corrick, CDM, CPM

Cheryl Corrick of

Chair of the Board of Certified Direct-entry Midwives