SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 19

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY SENATOR WIELECHOWSKI

Introduced: 2/5/14 Referred: State Affairs

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Supporting the American Indian Veterans Memorial Initiative to construct an Alaska
- 2 Native, American Indian, and Native Hawaiian veterans' monument in our nation's
- 3 capital.

4 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- 5 WHEREAS Native Americans, including American Indians, Alaska Natives, and
- 6 Native Hawaiians, have established a distinguished legacy within every branch of the armed
- 7 forces of the United States; and
- 8 WHEREAS Native Americans have fought in every war and conflict of the United
- 9 States since the Revolutionary War; and
- WHEREAS more than 12,000 Native Americans volunteered to serve in World War
- 11 I, despite denial of American citizenship; and
- WHEREAS the adaptation of indigenous languages by Native American code talkers
- was fundamental for strategic communications by the United States and their allies during
- World War I and World War II; and
- WHEREAS 42,000 Native Americans served in the Vietnam Conflict, 90 percent of

1	whom enlisted voluntarily; and
2	WHEREAS 32 Native Americans have been awarded the Congressional Medal of
3	Honor; and
4	WHEREAS the population of living Native American veterans exceeds 151,000
5	across the country, including 5,500 Alaska Natives; and
6	WHEREAS the patriotism, sacrifice, and dedication to service exhibited by this
7	population is not formally recognized in our nation's capital;
8	BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports the American Indian
9	Veterans Memorial Initiative to construct an Alaska Native, American Indian, and Native
10	Hawaiian veterans' monument in our nation's capital.
11	COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of
12	the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and
13	President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable John Boehner, Speaker of the U.S. House of
14	Representatives; the Honorable Harry Reid, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; Stephen D.
15	Bowers, Project Director, American Indian Veterans Memorial Initiative; and the Honorable
16	Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don
17	Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.