\bigcirc



DRIVER'S LICENSE INFORMATION

39 states

For Active Duty Members:

	This is my Home State. Will It Extend My Driver's License Past Its Expiration Date If I Am Stationed Out Of State?	This Is My Home State. How Long Is My Driver's License Valid And How May I Extend Or Renew It?	This Is The State Where I Am Stationed. Is My Home State Driver's License Valid Here?	Where Can I Get More Information?
Alabama	No	Member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Motor Vehicle Division (334) 242-4433
Alaska	No	Member and family members may renew by mail	No, current license only honored for 90 days; member and family members must obtain state license Yes, valid home state license honored for active duty military until 90 days after discharge.	Motor Vehicle Division (907) 465-4363
Arizona	Yes	Extended to six months after discharge; members and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; family members must obtain state license if employed or have children enrolled in school	Motor Vehicle Division (602) 255-8071 Driver's
				License Office (602) 255-8121
Arkansas	No	Extended on application (by mail, if necessary), not to exceed six years, if member is in first tour of duty; member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; family members must obtain state license	Motor Vehicle Division (501) 682-3333
California	Yes	Extended to 30 days after discharge; member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Department of Motor Vehicles (916) 657-7669
Colorado	Yes	Extended to 3 years after expiration date or 90 days after return to state, whichever comes first; may renew by mail; same rule applies to family members	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Motor Vehicle Division (303) 623-9463
Connecticut	No	Member and family members may renew by mail; free license issued during active duty service	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Department of Motor Vehicles (203) 566-4710





Delaware	No	Member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Division of Motor Vehicles
				(302) 739-2500
District of Columbia	No	Extended, on application (by mail, if necessary) to six years after expiration date; must apply for extension every four years; members and family members may renew by mail, one time only	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Bureau of Motor Vehicle Services (202) 727-6680
Florida	No	License not valid for operation after expired; but, member may renew (by mail, if necessary) without penalty through 90 days after discharge or return to state, whichever comes first; similar provision for family members	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to fam ily members	Division of Motor Vehicles (904) 488-3405
Georgia	No	Members may request a deferral of expiration if stationed outside the state for less than four years; may renew by mail; same rules apply to family members	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Department of Public Safety (404) 657-9300
Hawaii	No	May renew by mail (license issued prior to Jan 1, 1968 is valid until 30 days after discharge or return to state, whichever comes first)	Yes, valid home state license honored	Division of Motor Vehicles and Licensing (808) 532-7730
Idaho	No	Members are allowed a four year extension; may renew by mail; same rules apply to family members	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Transportation Department, Motor Vehicles (208) 334-8663
Illinois	Yes	Members serving in the U.S. may request an extension to 45 days after discharge; for members serving overseas, license is extended to 45 days following return to U.S.; member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Department of Vehicle Services 217-782-2720
Indiana	No	May renew by mail; same rule applies to family members	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Bureau of Motor Vehicles (317) 232-2861
Iowa	Yes	Extended to six months after discharge; only member may renew by mail; family member's license extended to five years past expiration	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Office of Vehicle Services (515) 237-3110
Kansas	No	Member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored provided home state registration is also maintained: same rule applies to	





Kentucky	No	Member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Department of Motor Vehicle Licensing (502) 564-6800
Louisiana	Yes	Extended to 60 days after discharge; may renew by mail; no extension or renewal by mail for family members	Yes, valid home state license honored; family members must obtain state license	Motor Vehicle Division (504) 922-2821
Maine	Yes	Member may apply (by mail, if necessary) to extend to 30 days after discharge; upon request, member may be licensed without payment of fee; member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Motor Vehicle Division (207) 287-3856
Maryland	Yes	Extended to 30 days after discharge or reassignment to state, whichever comes first; may renew by mail; same rules apply to family members	family members	Motor Vehicle Administration (410) 768-7000
Massachusetts	Yes	Member may apply to extend to 60 days after discharge; no extension for family members; may not renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Registry of Motor Vehicles (617) 351-4500
Michigan	Yes	Extended to 30 days after first military leave of absence or discharge; member or family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored	Division of Driver and Vehicle Records (517) 322-1166
Minnesota	Yes	Extended to 90 days after discharge, if state is notified prior to expiration; members and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Driver and Vehicle Services Division (612) 296-6911
<mark>Mississippi</mark>	Yes	Extended to 90 days after discharge; members and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	State Tax Commission (601) 987-1212
<mark>Missouri</mark>	No	May renew by mail; same rule applies to adult members	honored; same rule applies to family	Motor Vehicle Bureau (314) 751-4450
Montana	Yes	Extended to 30 days after discharge; member and family members may renew by mail	No, license must be secured within 90 days; same rule applies to family members	Motor Vehicle Division (406) 444-3292
Nebraska	Yes	Extended to 60 days after discharge; may renew by mail; same rules apply to spouse	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Department of Motor Vehicles (402) 471-2281





		P***		
Nevada	No	Member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored provided home state registration is also maintained; same rule applies to	Department of Motor Vehicles
			family members	(702) 687-5373
New Hampshire	No	Members and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Division of Motor Vehicles
				(603) 271-2251
New Jersey	No	Members and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Motor Vehicle Services
				(609) 292-6500
New Mexico	No	Members and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; family members must obtain state license	Motor Vehicle Division (505) 827-2294
				Ì.
New York	Yes	Extended to six months after discharge; however, member must notify NY Commissioner of Motor	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Department of Motor Vehicles
		Vehicles within 60 days of entry into service; members and family members may renew by mail		(518) 473-5595
North Carolina	No		Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Division of Motor Vehicles
				(919) 733-5110
North Dakota	Yes		Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family	Motor Vehicle Division
		first; member may renew by mail	members /	(701) 328-2725
Ohio	No	Member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; family members must obtain state license	Bureau of Motor Vehicles
				(614) 752-7500
<mark>Oklahoma</mark>		renew by mail; for members serving	Yes, valid home state license honored; vehicle must be registered in state or home state; same rule applies to family members	Motor Vehicle Division (405) 425-2424
Oregon	No	Member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family	Driver and Motor Vehicle Services
			members	(503) 945-5000
Pennsylvania	Yes	Extended to 45 days after discharge or return to state, whichever occurs first; may renew by mail; same rules	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Bureau of Motor Vehicles
		applies to family members		(717) 787-3130

			A	
Rhode Island	Yes	Members may apply (by mail, if necessary) for a special license that is good to 30 days after discharge; members and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored if home state registration is maintained; same rule applies to family members	Department of Motor Vehicles (401) 277-2970
South Carolina	No	Member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Division of Motor Vehicles
				(803) 251-2940
South Dakota	Yes	Extended to 30 days after discharge; member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Division of Motor Vehicles
				(605) 773-3541
Tennessee	Yes	Extended to 60 days after discharge or return to state, whichever comes first, (if desired, members may apply for a special license which shows the extension); members and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored if home state registration is also maintained; same rule applies to family members	Motor Vehicle Division (615) 251-5254
Texas	Yes	Extended to 90 days after discharge or return to state, whichever comes first; members and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Department of Public Safety (512) 465-2000
Utah	Yes	Extended to 90 days after discharge; may renew by mail; same rules apply to family members	Yes, valid home state license honored; family members must obtain state license if employed in the state	Motor Vehicle Customer Service Division (801) 965-4437
Vermont	Yes		Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Department of Motor Vehicles (802) 828-2000
Virginia	Yes	Extended to six months after discharge, but not to exceed five years from the date of expiration; member and family member may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; family members must obtain state license if employed in the state	Department of Motor Vehicles (804) 367-6614
Washington	Yes	Member may apply (by mail, if necessary) to extend to 90 days after discharge; family members may not renew by mail, but can request a 90 day extension allowing time to renew in person	Yes, valid home state license honored; vehicle must be registered in state or home state; same rule applies to family members	Department of Licensing (360)902-4050
West Virginia	Yes	Extended to six months after discharge; member and family members may renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored if home state registration is also maintained	Department of Motor Vehicles (304) 558-3900





Wisconsin	No	renew by mail	Yes, valid home state license honored; same rule applies to family members	Department of Motor Vehicles (608) 266-2325
Wyoming	No	necessary) to extend license for four	honored; same rule applies to family members	Motor Vehicle Licensing and Titling (307) 777-4834

For Dependents:

State	Spouse/Dependents specifically addressed?	Rule
Alabama	No	Code of Ala. @ 32-6-2 (1997)
		The following persons when driving a motor vehicle under the following conditions are exempt from a license hereunder:
		3) A nonresident who is at least 16 years of age and who has in his immediate possession a valid driver's license issued in his home state or country
Alaska	Yes	Alaska Statutes (AS) 28.15.021(2):
		The following persons are exempt from driver licensing under this chapter:
		(2) a nonresident who is at least 16 years of age and who has a valid driver's license issued by another jurisdiction; however, an Alaska driver's license must be obtained by the end of a 90-day period after entry into the state"
		Members of the armed forces are exempt if their "permanent residence" is in another jurisdiction and their license is from that other jurisdiction, but their dependents fall under the above rule (i.e. they have to get one within 90 days).
Arizona	No	A.R.S. @ 28-3152 (1997)
		A[T]he following persons are exempt from licensing under this chapter:
		3. A person who is a nonresident, who is at least sixteen years of age and who has in the person's immediate possession a valid driver license issued to the person in the person's home state or country while the person is operating a motor vehicle requiring a class D license.
Arkansas	No	Ark. Stat. Ann. @ 27-16-603 (1997)
		The following persons are exempt from licensing under this act:
		(3) A nonresident who is at least sixteen (16) years of age and who has in his immediate possession a valid noncommercial driver's license issued to him in his home state or country may operate a motor vehicle in this state only as a noncommercial driver;
California	Yes	Driver License