

RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL

Growing Alaska Through Responsible Resource Development

January 5, 2011

Mr. Chris Maisch, State Forester Division of Forestry 550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1450 Anchorage, AK 99501

RE: Additional Lands to Southeast State Forest

Dear Mr. Maisch:

The Resource Development Council (RDC) is writing to support the inclusion of an additional 23,181 acres to the Southeast State Forest. This state land in southern Southeast Alaska is appropriately suited for inclusion into the new state forest as it has been consistently managed for timber harvest. A state forest designation over these lands would expand the Southeast State Forest to 48,472 acres and ensure they will remain in state ownership and contribute to the long-term viability of the forest products industry in Southeast Alaska.

RDC is a statewide, non-profit, membership-funded organization founded in 1975. The RDC membership is comprised of individuals and companies from Alaska's oil and gas, mining, timber, tourism, and fisheries industries, as well as Alaska Native corporations, local communities, organized labor, and industry support firms. RDC's purpose is to link these diverse interests together to encourage a strong, diversified private sector in Alaska and expand the state's economic base through the responsible development of our natural resources.

RDC supported the creation of the 25,291-acre Southeast State Forest, which was established in June 2010. In Southeast Alaska, demand for state timber exceeds supply and local mills are dependent on a consistent supply to stay in business. The majority of the timber in Southeast Alaska is on federal land, but federal timber sales have declined sharply. Subsequently, the demand for state timber from local mills has increased significantly.

Much of the new state forest was inherited from the U.S. Forest Service with young second-growth stands. There is broad support for shifting timber harvesting in Southeast Alaska from old growth to second growth stands. The new state forest and the proposed additional parcels to it will help provide a sustainable timber supply to local mills and accelerate the harvest of second-growth timber. Actively managed second-growth stands will provide more timber volume per acre on shorter rotations.

The shift to second-growth harvesting can be accelerated and timber volume increased on state land by thinning these stands. However, thinning is a long-term investment and is only justified if the land will be available for timber harvesting.

The Division of Forestry will manage the state forest for a long-term supply of timber to local processors, and retain the land in state ownership for multiple use, including wildlife habitat and harvest, as well as recreational activities. The forest will be managed as part of the State Forest System in accordance with a new management plan that will be developed within the next three years. In the interim, existing guidance under the current Prince of Wales Island Area Plan and Central/Southern Southeast area plans will apply.

RDC supports the proposed additions to the Southeast State Forest from lands currently available for timber harvest and believes a larger state forest in the region will benefit the economy.

Sincerely,

Senator Mark Begich Senator Lisa Murkowski Carl Portman

Founded 1975 Executive Director Jason W. Brune 2010-2011 Executive Committee Tom Maloney, President Phil Cochrane, Sr. Vice President L.F. "Len" Horst, Vice President Eric Fjelstad, Treasurer Steve Denton, Secretary Wendy Lindskoog, Past President

Bob Berto Patty Bielawski Pat Carter Marilyn Crockett Jeff Foley Stan Foo Paul Glavinovich Wendy King Stephanie Madsen Lance Miller Dale Pittman Ethan Schutt Lorna Shaw John Shively Tiel Smith Jeanine St. John Scott Thorson Cam Toohey Directors Greg Baker Dave Benton Allen Bingham Dan Britton Dave Carey Dave Chaput Steve Connelly Bob Cox Allan Dolynny Paula Easley Ella Ede Brad Evans Joe Everhart Corri Feige Carol Fraser Dan Graham Chuck Greene Scott Habberstad Karl Hanneman Rick Harris Paul Henry Steve Hites Teresa Imm Bill Jeffress Mike Jungreis Frank Kelty Kip Knudson Thomas Krzewinski John Lau Linda Leary Jennifer Loten Tom Lovas Andy Mack John MacKinnon Mary McDowell Ron McPheters

Hans Neidig Lisa Parker Judy Patrick Charlie Powers Ralph Samuels Keith Sanders Mary Sattler Danny Seybert Ken Sheffield Keith Silver John Sturgeon Dan Sullivan Michael Terminel Jan Trigg John Zager **Ex-Officio Members**

James Mery Denise Michels