

State of Alaska Department of Public Safety

Department of Fubilic Salety

Fire Standards Council

Sean Parnell, Governor Joseph A. Masters, Commissioner

April 4, 2011

Alaska Fire Chief's Association Chief Jeff Tucker- President 2358 Bradway Road North Pole, AK 99705

Dear Chief Tucker,

On January 31, 2011 the Alaska Fire Chief's Association (AFCA) solicited support from the Alaska Fire Standards Council (AFSC) for a designated seat on the Council. The AFSC recently reconvened for consideration of this request and passed a motion to support the AFCA in establishing a designated seat. This support is specific to the proposal for the designation of an additional seat (under AS 18.70.330 [b] {1}) for a representative of the AFCA.

The mission of the AFSC is to provide fire service personnel within the state of Alaska realistic and attainable standards to safely and effectively serve Alaskan communities. As the AFSC continues to establish training and performance standards for Alaska's Fire Service, we have a vision that includes maintaining the highest level of professional standards and comprehensive certification program requirements. Overall, we strive to have the greatest positive impact toward the safety and welfare of fire service personnel and their communities

In review of your request we have concluded that the AFCA would augment our ability to fulfill our mission. This decision is based on the AFCA's continued efforts to enhance fire service leadership, its longstanding support of the AFSC, and its commitment for continued support of the mission of the AFSC. As such, the AFSC endorses the AFCA efforts for the addition of a seat on the Council that is designated for a representative of the AFCA.

Sincerely,

Gordon Descutner

AFSC Executive Director

Buddy Lane

AFSC Chairman

Sujan W. Lave

Greg Coon

AFSC Vice Chairman