STATE OF ALASKA

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

BOARD OF FORESTRY

April 4, 2011

Senator Bert Stedman, Co-chair Senator Lyman Hoffman, Co-chair Senate Finance Committee 120 4th Street, State Capitol, Room 520 Juneau, Alaska 99801-1182

Dear Senators Stedman and Hoffman,

The Alaska Board of Forestry is pleased to convey its support for Senate Bill 44/House Bill 105 to expand the Southeast State Forest. The Board of Forestry provides a forum to discuss and resolve issues on forest practices and management of forests on state land (AS 41.17.947(b)). Board members represent diverse constituencies – the timber, fishing, and mining industries, Native Corporations, professional foresters and fish and wildlife biologists, and environmental and recreational organizations.

SEAN PARNELL, GOVERNOR

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1450

Anchorage, AK 99501

The Board of Forestry was briefed on the concept of state forest additions at their meeting on August 23-25, 2010, on a draft of the bill at the December 13-14, 2010 meeting, and on the specifics of SB 44/HB 105. This land is currently part of the state timber base, but susceptible to future changes in land use designations. Five of these parcels were previously part of the University land settlement. Dedication to long-term management helps sustain the Southeast timber industry and communities, and ensure continued multiple use. It also secures a long-term land base that justifies the investment in thinning to increase the volume of second-growth timber and enhance wildlife habitat.

I am pleased to report that on April 1, 2011 the Board unanimously voted to support passage of Senate Bill 44/House Bill 105.

Sincerely,

Chris Maisch, State Forester Chair, Alaska Board of Forestry

Cc: Sean Parnell, Governor

Dan Sullivan, DNR Commissioner

Representative William Thomas, Co-Chair House Finance

Alaska Board of Forestry

- Ron Wolfe, Alaska Native Corporations
- Eric Nichols, Forest Industry Trade Association

- Wayne Nicolls, Non-governmental Professional Forester
- Rob Bosworth, Environmental Organization
- Erin McLarnon, Recreation Organization
- Mark Vinsel, Commercial Fisherman's Organization
- Jeff Foley, Mining Organization
- Matt Cronin, Non-governmental Professional Fish/Wildlife Biologist