Myron P. Naneng, Sr., President Steven R. Street, Director

Association of Village Council Presidents

Department of Cultural and Environmental Sciences PO Box 219 • Bethel AK 99559

Phone (907) 543-7300 • Fax: (907) 543-5732

February 18, 2011

Senator Bill Wielechowski State Capitol Juneau, AK 99801

Dear Senator Bill Wielechowski:

As President of the Association of Village Council Presidents we are writing you in support of SB 27, a bill that would prohibit the manufacture and sale of toxic retardants in common consumer products. The Association of Village Council Presidents is a tribally-governed organization advocating on behalf of 56 Federally Recognized tribal governments throughout the Calista region. We recognized increasing evidence that flame retardants, such as polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) named in SB 27 are being found in the Arctic. We are concerned about PBDEs leaving a lasting toxic legacy in people and the environment.

PBDEs are potent toxins that persist in the environment and bioaccumulation in the food chain and in human tissues. They can travel long distances and move readily between the water, soil, and air. PBDEs are associated with a variety of negative toxic effects including memory impairment, learning and behavioral problems, the disruption of thyroid hormone balance and reproductive health issues. In Alaska, PBDEs have been detected in seabird eggs, marine mammals, otters, and polar bears. The presence of such chemicals in wildlife is cause of concern, no only for the survival and well-being of wildlife but for the human consequences of bioaccumulative exposure through the food we eat.

We need to enact legislation to phase out PBDEs from consumer product. Fortunately, fire safety can be achieved without the use of toxic chemical because there are safe, economical, and effective alternatives to PBDEs currently in widespread use.

Eliminating most uses of PBDE flame retardants is possible and an important step to protecting public health.

Thank you for sponsoring this bill.

Sincerely,

Myron Naneng, President

ASSOCIATION OF VILLAGE COUNCIL PRESIDENTS



Akiachak Akiak Alakanuk Andreafsky Aniak Atmautluak Bethel Bill Moore's Sl Chefornak Chevak Chuathbaluk Chuloonawick Crooked Creek Eek Emmonak Georgetown Goodnews Bay Hamilton Hooper Bay Lower Kalskag Upper Kalskag Kasigluk Kipnuk Kongiganak Kotlik Kwethluk Kwigillingok Lime Village Marshall Mekoryuk Mtn. Village Napaimiut Napakiak Napaskiak Newtok Nightmute Nunakauyaq Nunam Iqua Nunapitchuk Ohogamiut Oscarville Paimiut Pilot Station Pitka's Point Platinum

Quinhagak Red Devil Russian Mission Scammon Bay Sleetmute

St. Mary's

Stony River Tuluksak Tuntutuliak Tununak Umkumiut