HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 13

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY REPRESENTATIVES STOLTZE, Pruitt, Thomas, Costello, Chenault, Fairclough, Hawker, Johansen, Johnson, Keller, Millett, Neuman, Olson, Seaton, Peggy Wilson, Gatto, Lynn, Saddler, Muñoz, Thompson

Introduced: 1/21/11 Referred: State Affairs

8

9

10

A RESOLUTION

1 Honoring President Reagan on the 100th anniversary of his birth.

2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- WHEREAS Ronald Wilson Reagan, a man of humble background, worked throughout his life to serve freedom and to advance the public good; and
- WHEREAS Ronald Reagan served with honor and distinction as a union leader, as a member of the armed forces of the United States, as Governor of California, and, for two terms, as the President of the United States; and
 - WHEREAS, in 1981, when Ronald Reagan was inaugurated as President of the United States, he inherited a disillusioned nation shackled by rampant inflation and high unemployment; and
- WHEREAS, during his Presidential term, Ronald Reagan led a bipartisan effort to enact a bold agenda of restoring accountability and common sense to the government, which led to unprecedented economic growth and opportunity for millions of Americans; and
- WHEREAS President Reagan's commitment to the armed forces of the United States contributed to the restoration of pride in America and its values and prepared the armed forces to meet the challenges of the 21st century; and

1	WHEREAS President Reagan's vision of "peace through strength" led to the end of
2	the Cold War and the eventual demise of the Soviet Union, guaranteeing basic human rights
3	for millions of people; and
4	WHEREAS President Reagan's leadership and foreign policy expanded the scope of
5	democracy and freedom in the Middle East, Europe, the Caribbean, and Central America; and
6	WHEREAS President Reagan laid the groundwork for the reunification of Germany
7	and the destruction of the Berlin Wall; and
8	WHEREAS President Reagan signed the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces Treaty
9	between the United States and the Soviet Union, establishing the framework for the Strategic
10	Arms Reduction Treaty and the reduction in the number of nuclear warheads the two super
11	power nations had primed for launch; and
12	WHEREAS President Reagan advanced equality for women by appointing Sandra
13	Day O'Connor, as the first woman Justice of the United States Supreme Court; and
14	WHEREAS, throughout his presidency, Ronald Reagan advocated limiting federal
15	control over the land and natural resources of Alaska; and
16	WHEREAS, in 1983, President Reagan signed into law the Alaska Railroad Transfer
17	Act, transferring ownership of the Alaska Railroad to the state; and
18	WHEREAS, in 1984, President Reagan met with Pope John Paul II in Fairbanks to
19	discuss pressing world issues; and
20	WHEREAS President Reagan signed legislation that authorized the payment of
21	reparations to the Aleuts who had been displaced from their homes and sent to internment
22	camps, known as "duration villages," during World War II; and
23	WHEREAS President Reagan supported the Village Built Clinic Program, which
24	funded Indian Health Service clinics in Alaska Native villages throughout the state and
25	brought basic health care to many Alaskans; and
26	WHEREAS President Reagan authorized the establishment of the federal government
27	8(a) Business Development Program, which brought economic development and benefits to
28	Alaska Native Corporations; and
29	WHEREAS February 6, 2011, is the 100th anniversary of Ronald Reagan's birth and
30	the seventh since his death;
31	RE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature recognizes and honors

- 1 President Ronald Reagan on the 100th anniversary of his birth for his accomplishments in
- 2 service to his country, to Alaska, and to the whole world.
- 3 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the
- 4 Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative,
- 5 members of the Alaska delegation in Congress; former first lady Nancy Reagan; and the
- 6 Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation and Library.